12:00 PM UTC
Game Details

Appiah goes on UK scouting mission


Desperate Bafana endure week of hell

South Africa

Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Uruguay fined for anti-gay chants

Generic FIFA logo
Five nations were fined for fan chants during World Cup qualification games.

FIFA has fined Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Uruguay for anti-gay chants by their national team's fans.

FIFA said on its website that the "insulting and discriminatory chants" came during qualifying matches for the 2018 World Cup.

Chile's fine is the biggest at 70,000 Swiss francs ($70,000) over cases at four different matches. The governing body imposed fines of 20,000 Swiss francs ($20,000) on Argentina, Mexico, Peru and Uruguay.

FIFA added that "proceedings against the Honduras Football Association for apparent homophobic chants by its supporters are ongoing."

The fines were imposed despite FIFA for several years insisting that financial sanctions alone were not enough for discriminatory cases.

Among other disciplinary cases published by FIFA on Wednesday, Kuwait was made to forfeit a qualifier they could not play against Myanmar because the Gulf state is currently suspended over government interference. Kuwait were fined 10,000 Swiss francs ($10,000) over that game and the same amount over a drone appearing at a qualifier against South Korea.

Hong Kong were fined 60,000 Swiss francs ($60,000) over misconduct by fans in matches against China and Qatar, including booing the national anthem.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.