Costa Rica
12:00 PM UTC
Match 25
Game Details
3:00 PM UTC
Match 24
Game Details
6:00 PM UTC
Match 26
Game Details
12:00 PM UTC Jun 23, 2018
Match 29
Game Details
South Korea
6:00 PM UTC Jun 23, 2018
Match 28
Game Details
3:00 PM UTC Jun 23, 2018
Match 27
Game Details
Saudi ArabiaSaudi Arabia
Match 18
Game Details

Fearless Godin a throwback to Milanesque defending

World Cup

Suarez, Cavani top Uruguay squad

FC's Janusz Michallik breaks down Óscar Tabárez's picks and gives his predictions for their chances in Brazil.
Get ready for the 2014 World Cup with 32 great facts about all 32 teams who will be in Brazil.

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez and PSG's Edinson Cavani are the star names confirmed in Uruguay's provisional squad for the World Cup finals.

Edinson Cavani and Luis Suarez celebrate against South Korea in the 2010 World Cup finals.
Edinson Cavani and Luis Suarez celebrate against South Korea in the 2010 World Cup finals.

Miguel: Awesome power

Suarez and Cavani, both 27, have scored 47 leagues goals between them this season and are key to coach Oscar Tabarez's hopes of success in Brazil. They are joined in the forward line by veteran striker Diego Forlan, 34, who now plays in Japan for Cerezo Osaka.

Southampton midfielder Gaston Ramirez, and Atletico Madrid duo Jose Maria Gimenez and Cristian Rodriguez will all feature at their first World Cup.

There is also a place for Suarez's club teammate Sebastian Coates, who is on loan in his homeland at his former club Nacional from Liverpool but has made only four appearances after suffering a serious knee injury in August.

With Penarol goalkeeper Juan Castillo failing to make the cut, Coates is the only player based in Uruguay to travel to Brazil - though his Nacional teammate Andres Scotti is a reserve.

Uruguay, who reached the semi-finals of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa and won the Copa America the following year, will face England, Italy and Costa Rica in Group D in Brazil.

Uruguay squad: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), Martin Silva (Vasco Da Gama), Rodrigo Munoz (Libertad); Diego Lugano (West Brom), Diego Godin, Jose Maria Gimenez (both Atletico Madrid), Martin Caceres (Juventus), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfical), Jorge Fucile (Porto), Sebastian Coates (Nacional); Egidio Arevalo-Rios (Morelia), Walter Gargano (Parma), Diego Perez (Bologna), Sebastian Eguren (Palmeiras), Alvaro Gonzalez (Lazio), Alejandro Silva (Lanus), Alvaro Pereira (Sao Pablo), Cristian Rodriguez (Atletico Madrid), Gaston Ramirez (Southampton), Nicolas Lodeiro (Botafogo); Edinson Cavani (PSG), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Diego Forlan (Cerezo Osaka), Abel Hernandez (Palermo), Cristian Stuani (Espanyol).

Standy-by list: Andres Scotti (Nacional), Alvaro Fernandez (Gimnasia y Esgrima La Plata), Gonzalo Castro (Real Sociedad).


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.