12:30 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details

Azam beat Simba to retain CECAFA Kagame Cup

Azam FC defeated arch-rivals Simba SC 2-1 in an all-Tanzanian final to retain the regional CECAFA Kagame Club Championship title on Friday.

Shaban Iddi gave Azam FC the lead in the first half at the Benjamin Mkapa National Stadium in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, but Simba new boy Meddie Kagere levelled the contest after the break.

The 62nd-minute strike was Kagere's fifth in the tournament, as he continues his strong start to life after moving from Gor Mahia.

However, Azam responded quickly and retook the lead six minutes later, as skipper Aggrey Morris made no mistake when he converted a free kick outside the box.

Azam could have made it 3-1, but their Ghanaian goalkeeper Razak Abalora missed a penalty after 87 minutes.

In an earlier playoff match, Kenya Premier League champions Gor Mahia defeated Zanzibar's Jeshi la Kujenga Uchumi (JKU) 2-0.

New signing Francis Mustapha scored in the 52nd minute before Samuel Onyango doubled the lead six minutes later.

"I am happy that this competition has given my players good warm-up ahead of our CAF Confederation game next week," said Gor coach Dylan Kerr. "We have been able to identify some weak points that we must rectify."

Gor, who stand behind Algeria's USM Alger in Group D, host Tanzania's Young Africans on July 18th at the Moi International Sports Centre, Nairobi.

"It has been a very successful tournament and I believe that teams have used the competition to prepare better for the forthcoming continental games," Nicholas Musonye, Secretary General of the Council for East and Central African Football Associations (CECAFA), told KweséESPN.

Azam's victory sees them picked a cash prize of $30,000, while Simba received $20,000.

Gor received $10,000 for finishing third.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.