Previous
Republic of Ireland
Poland
1
1
FT
Game Details
Portugal
Serbia
2
1
FT
Game Details
France
Denmark
2
0
FT
Game Details
Brazil
Chile
1
0
FT
Game Details
Georgia
Germany
0
2
FT
Game Details
Scotland
Gibraltar
6
1
FT
Game Details
Northern Ireland
Finland
2
1
FT
Game Details
Next

Hunger is back at Barca

Barcelona
Read

Fergie escapes charge for latest ref rap

The Football Association will not charge Sir Alex Ferguson for his latest tirade against referees, according to ESPNsoccernet sources.

• Podcast: Infamy! Infamy! Infamy!
• Sir Alex bemoans penalty decision

After Manchester United's 1-0 defeat at Arsenal at the Emirates on Sunday, Sir Alex claimed that his team were denied a late penalty for Gael Clichy's challenge on substitute Michael Owen.

"We're not going to get the decisions in these big games, I'm afraid," the United boss said. "We are not going to get decisions like that in a major game. It's too big a game and we don't seem to get these decisions."

Sir Alex's comments have been looked at by the FA, but the United boss, who has only just returned to the dugout after a five-game touchline ban for comments about referee Martin Atkinson, did not quite cross the line by insulting the match officials or questioning their integrity.

He did, though, complain about the favourable decisions he believes Chelsea have enjoyed in the recent league fixtures against his team, and in their recent fixtures, including two debatable goals against Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday. An FA source said: "Sir Alex's comments this time were cryptic but hardly worthy of a charge."

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.