West Bromwich Albion
Nov 29, 2014 12:45 PM GMT
Game Details
Hertha Berlin
Bayern Munich
Nov 29, 2014 2:30 PM GMT
Game Details
Stoke City
Nov 29, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Manchester United
Hull City
Nov 29, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Nov 29, 2014 5:30 PM GMT
Game Details
Real Madrid
Nov 29, 2014 7:00 PM GMT
Game Details
New England Revolution
New York Red Bulls
Nov 29, 2014 8:00 PM GMT
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 1
Game Details
Nov 29, 2014 11:00 PM GMT
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 1
Game Details

Barca attack picking up steam

Barcelona 7 hours ago
By ESPN Staff
Dec 20, 2010

Eto'o takes African crown

Cameroon striker Samuel Eto'o has been crowned African Player of the Year for 2010 at a glittering awards ceremony in Cairo.

Eto'o claims top prize

Ancelotti: Drogba will be back to his best

Eto'o, who enjoyed little success with his country but won the Treble with his club Inter Milan last season, becomes the first player to win the award four times.

He finished ahead of Ivory Coast and Chelsea striker Didier Drogba and Ghana and Sunderland forward Asamoah Gyan.

Eto'o won the award three times in a row from 2003 and his latest success means he overtakes other three-time winners Abedi Pele and George Weah.

The 29-year-old was an integral part of Inter's success last term, netting 16 goals during a highly successful campaign under then coach Jose Mourinho.

However, his exploits with the Indomitable Lions were limited as they were bundled out early in both the African Nations Cup and World Cup in South Africa.

In some quarters, that made him second favourite to Gyan, whose goal-scoring exploits took Ghana to the World Cup quarter-finals, where they were eventually beaten on penalties by Uruguay.

Gyan also helped Ghana reach the final of the African Nations Cup, where they lost out to Egypt.

The winner of the award was decided by votes from national coaches of the continent's 53 countries affiliated to the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Former Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac was named coach of the year, the Serbian seeing off strong competition from TP Mazembe boss Lamine N'Diaye and Egypt's Hassan Shehata.

Ghana were also voted national team of the year ahead of Algeria and Egypt, while Udinese midfielder Kwadwo Asamoah was named young player of the year ahead of Algeria's Ryad Boudebouz and Niger striker Moussa Maazou.

TP Mazembe, who were beaten by Inter Milan in Saturday's FIFA Club World Cup final, won the best club side award.

Veteran Egypt midfielder Ahmed Hassan, also the captain of the Pharaohs, won the award for the best Africa-based player.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.