Leg 1
Game Details

Europeo of the week: Hector Herrera

Liga MX
Melbourne City FCMelbourne City FC
Western Sydney WanderersWestern Sydney Wanderers
Game Details

A brief history of Juventus

Formed: 1897
European Cup/Champions League: 1984-85, 1995-96
European Cup Winners' Cup:: 1983-84
UEFA Super Cup: 1984, 1996
Serie A: 28
Coppa Italia: 9
Super Coppa: 4 Juventus are the third-oldest club in Italy and easily the most successful domestically. Their total of 27 titles is streets ahead of anyone else, while their nine Coppa Italias have been equalled only by Roma. The club were formed as Sport Club Juventus in 1897 by a group of students from Turin. At first their kit was pink and black but they soon changed to black-and-white stripes as a tribute to Notts County. In their new colours, Juve won their first Italian title in 1905. They were taken owner by the Fiat owner Eduardo Agnelli in 1923, beginning a relationship with the Agnelli family that has endured to this day. The team won Serie A in 1926, and then took five championships in a row from 1931 to 1935, when they also picked up their nickname of 'The Old Lady'. But it would be 15 years before she would claim her eighth title. A steady stream of trophies came in the Fifties and Sixties, including a title under the English manager Jesse Carver in 1952 and a first domestic Double in 1960. The side included overseas stars in John Charles and Omar Sivori, as well as Giampiero Boniperti, whose record of 182 goals would stand until Alessandro del Piero usurped him in 2006. Juventus cemented their place as the great achievers of Italian football when they won nine out of 15 titles between 1972 and 1986 - and claimed all three major European trophies in the same period. The majority came under the management of Giovaani Trapattoni, whose won 14 trophies in a ten-year spell from 1976 to 1986. The team included the likes of Gaetano Scirea - who has made more Juve appearances than anybody other than del Piero - Paolo Rossi and the Frenchman Michel Platini. During his time at the club Platini became the only person to win the European Footballer of the Year award for three consecutive years, from 1983 to 1985. The year of 1985 is best remembered for another, more qualified triumph: Juventus won their first European Cup, beating Liverpool 1-0 in the final in Heysel, but the match was completely overshadowed by the death of 39 people before the match. Thirty-two of them were Juventus fans. Juve moved into a new stadium, the Stadio delle Alpi, in 1990, but a spell of nine years without a title from 1986 to 1995 is their longest drought since the war, and they had only a Coppa Italia and their second Uefa Cup to fall back on. Marcelo Lippi ended the wait in his first season, and then won the European Cup the following year after victory over Ajax on penalties. Lippi's frighteningly strong side claimed back-to-back titles in 1997 and 1998, yet they should probably have won more: defeats to Borussia Dortmund and Real Madrid in the Champions League finals of 1997 and 1998 were a major surprise. After a short spell at Internazionale, Lippi returned to win two more titles in 2001 and 2002. Juventus were also champions under Fabio Capello in 2004 and 2005, but those were deleted because of their part in the Calciopoli match-fixing scandal; they were also relegated for the first time in their history when the scandal broke in 2006. Juventus returned inevitably at the first attempt and, although they struggled to challenge for the title in the ensuing years, the Old Lady kept plugging away and got their reward in 2011-12 when they appointed Antonio Conte as their new manager. A Serie A title and an unbeaten season proved it: Juve were back at the top.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.