Tottenham Hotspur
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Borussia Monchengladbach
VfB Stuttgart
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Sparta Rotterdam
PSV Eindhoven
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
2:00 AM UTC Oct 26, 2016
Game Details
Cerro Porteño
Independiente Medellín
12:00 AM UTC Oct 26, 2016
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 0
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

Verbeek names experimental Australia squad

Australia coach Pim Verbeek continues to test out his options ahead of next year's World Cup after naming three debutants and recalling Ante Covic and Patrick Kisnorbo to the squad for the friendly against Republic of Ireland on August 12 in Limerick.

Verbeek has given plenty of players a chance to impress in his 18-month stint in charge of the national team, but is apparently still testing out his depth with the inclusion of new faces Oliver Bozanic, Aaron Mooy and Nikita Rukavytsya as well as giving another chance to Kisnorbo, Covic and James Holland.

Scott Chipperfield, Vince Grella and Brett Emerton are the main absentees from the squad which will feature European-based players only, ruling out the likes of Josh Kennedy and Craig Moore.

Tim Cahill, Lucas Neill and Harry Kewell are named in the squad for the match which takes place just three days before the start of the Premier League season, but there is no Mark Viduka with the former Socceroos captain still searching for a club.

Bozanic plays for Cheltenham Town in the lower leagues of England, while Rukavytsya has been with FC Twente in Holland since leaving Perth Glory in January. Mooy has spent time with Bolton Wanderers Academy side.

Kisnorbo hasn't played for Australia since the Asian Cup in 2007, while Covic was part of the last World Cup squad and has moved back to Europe after leaving the Newcastle Jets last year. Holland last played for Australia against China in Sydney last year.

Dario Vidosic and Rhys Williams, who made their debuts against Japan at the MCG in June of this year, are also in the squad.

The Australia squad to play Ireland is: Mark Schwarzer, Ante Covic; Patrick Kisnorbo, Lucas Neill, Rhys Williams, Jade North, Matthew Spiranovic, Adrian Madaschi, Luke Wilkshire; Mark Bresciano, James Holland, Dario Vidosic, Tim Cahill, Nick Carle, Aaron Mooy, Harry Kewell, Oliver Bozanic, David Carney, Mile Jedinak; Scott McDonald, Brett Holman, Nikita Rukavytsya.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.