West Bromwich Albion
Game Details
Real Betis
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

Belgium bow beckons for forward De Camargo

Brazilian-born Igor De Camargo is set to earn his first cap for Belgium in the friendly against Slovenia next Wednesday.

Having switched nationalities recently, the 25-year-old forward has been called up for the first time by Belgium head coach Rene Vandereycken.

Born in Porto Feliz, De Camargo has played in the Belgian league with Genk, Beringen and FC Brussels before linking up with current champions Standard Liege in 2005.

He told the Belgian media: "I will try to be as successful at integrating among the national team as I have in integrating in this country. It shouldn't be a problem as I feel the way I've adapted here has been great."

Vandereycken has called up 25 players, including Premier League stars Vincent Kompany (Manchester City) and Marouane Fellaini (Everton).

After the weekend the list will be reduced to approximately 20 players.

Keeper Logan Bailly is an absentee from Belgium's last outing, a friendly against Luxembourg, while Plymouth striker Emile Mpenza also misses out.

AZ Alkmaar forward Moussa Dembele, who missed the last World Cup qualifier against Spain in October with a knee injury, returns to the squad.

Belgium are third behind Spain and Turkey in World Cup qualifying Group Five, having taken seven points from their first four games.

Vandereycken's side will play a friendly against Slovenia on February 11 in Genk before the qualifying double-header against Bosnia on March 28 and April 1.

Belgium squad: Silvio Proto (Germinal Beerschot), Stijn Stijnen (Club Bruges), Brian Vandenbussche (Heerenveen), Filip Daems (Borussia Monchengladbach), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Timmy Simons (PSV), Gill Swerts (AZ), Daniel Van Buyten (Bayern Munich), Anthony Vandenborre (Genoa), Thomas Vermaelen (Ajax), Steven Defour (Standard Liege) Marouane Fellaini (Everton), Guillaume Gillet (Anderlecht), Faris Haroun (Germinal Beerschot), Eden Hazard (Lille), Maarten Martens (AZ), Jan Vertonghen (Ajax), Axel Witsel (Standard Liege), Igor De Camargo (Standard Liege), Moussa Dembele (AZ), Tom De Mul (RC Genk), Tom De Sutter (Anderlecht), Stein Huysegems (RC Genk), Kevin Mirallas (Saint-Etienne), Wesley Sonck (Club Bruges)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.