Tottenham Hotspur
3:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Celta Vigo
Atletico Madrid
2:15 PM UTC
Game Details
Real Madrid
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
San Jose Earthquakes
Minnesota United FC
8:00 PM UTC
Game Details
FC Dallas
LA Galaxy
8:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Real Salt Lake
Sporting Kansas City
8:00 PM UTC
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

Crew's Schmid is MLS coach of year

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Sigi Schmid of the Columbus Crew is Major League Soccer's coach of the year.

Schmid earned the most votes in polling of MLS players, general managers, coaches and members of the media. The award was announced Tuesday.

Schmid becomes the second coach in MLS history to win the award more than once. He previously won it in 1999 with the L.A. Galaxy and now joins Bob Bradley (1998, 2006) as a two-time winner. He also becomes the second coach in Crew history to win the award, joining Greg Andrulis (2004).

The 2008 regular season was one of the best in Crew history, as the Black & Gold went 17-7-6.

Schmid notched his 100th career MLS victory on April 26.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.