Manchester United
12:30 PM GMT
Game Details
3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Celta Vigo
Real Madrid
7:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Borussia Monchengladbach
VfL Wolfsburg
BT Sport 1 3:30 PM GMT
Game Details
Game Details
BT Sport 1 6:45 PM GMT
Game Details
Stade de Reims
7:00 PM GMT
Game Details
New York Red Bulls
LA Galaxy
Game Details
Orlando City SC
Toronto FC
11:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Seattle Sounders FC
Portland Timbers
1:30 AM GMT Apr 27, 2015
Game Details

Miller: Best never to win POTY

Top Tenner

How Laudrup won the league with Lekhwiya


Arsenal can lay down a marker

By ESPN Staff

World Cup: Egypt compete final qualifier round

JOHANNESBURG, Oct 12 (Reuters) - Continental champions Egypt completed the second round of African World Cup qualification with an easy 4-0 win over Djibouti in Cairo on Sunday.

Egypt were among the heavyweight contenders who went through but weekend casualties included 2002 World Cup quarter-finalists Senegal, the Democratic Republic of Congo and 2006 World Cup finalists Angola.

The African Nations Cup champions did not quite deliver the goal deluge expected but started Sunday's match without injured English-based strikers Mido and Amr Zaki.

Instead goals from Emad Moteab, captain Ahmed Hassan and Mohamed Aboutrika along with a late own goal confirmed Egypt as Group 12 winners.

Five matches on Sunday completed qualification with Guinea claiming one of the 12 group winning places after a 3-2 home win over Kenya and Mozambique sneaking the eighth and final best runners-up spot following a positive sequence of results 24 hours after their 1-0 win in Botswana.

The other 18 places had been determined on Saturday with previous World Cup finalists Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Nigeria, Togo and Tunisia progressing to the final five groups to be drawn in Zurich on Oct. 22.

The group winners will qualify for the World Cup in South Africa while the top three finishers in each will compete at the 2010 African Nations Cup finals in Angola.

"We had no idea that we had made it until we made it back to Maputo," Mozambique's Dutch coach Mart Nooij told Reuters by telephone on Sunday.

"It was only when we got home that we found out that we had just made it by goal difference. Now we are out celebrating."

On Saturday, Arsenal's Emmanuel Adebayor grabbed four goals in a dramatic last-minute return to Togo's team as they snatched a place with a 6-0 thrashing of Swaziland in Accra.

Nigeria were the only team to maintain a 100 percent record throughout after beating Sierra Leone 4-1 in Abuja while Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast and Cameroon all finished unbeaten.

The full list of 20 qualifiers are: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia and Zambia.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.