Real Sociedad
Game Details
Deportivo La Coruña
Game Details

Cologne part ways with sporting director

FC Cologne

Garriock ready to lead Canberra

By ESPN Staff

Hiddink calls up three new faces for qualifiers

MOSCOW, Sept 29 (Reuters) - Russia coach Guus Hiddink called up three newcomers on Monday to his 22-man squad for next month's World Cup qualifiers against Germany and Finland.

CSKA Moscow midfielders Alan Dzagoyev, fellow midfielder Igor Denisov of Zenit St Petersburg and Spartak Moscow striker Alexander Prudnikov travel with the squad to Group four leaders Germany on Oct.11 and face Finland at home four days later.

"All three, Denisov, Dzagoyev and Prudnikov, have shown good form playing for their respective clubs and they deserved to be called to the national team," Hiddink told reporters on Monday.

The Dutchman will be without Dynamo Moscow defender Denis Kolodin who is out for the rest of the year after injuring his ankle in a league game at the weekend.

Zenit's Denisov, 24, caused a big stir in May by turning down Hiddink's invitation to join Russia's provisional squad for Euro 2008 but was told he would be considered for selection in the future after apologising for his action.

Dzagoyev, a highly talented 18-year-old playmaker, caught the Dutch manager's eye after scoring four goals in CSKA Moscow's last three games, all wins, to lead the army club to second place in the Russian premier league.

Prudnikov, 19, a powerfully-built centre-forward who was a member of Russia's under-17 team that won the European championship in 2006, has been touted to follow in the footsteps of his former Spartak Moscow team mate Roman Pavlyuchenko.

Russia opened their qualifying campaign earlier this month with a 2-1 home win over Wales.

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeyev (CSKA Moscow), Vyacheslav Malafeyev (Zenit St Petersburg), Sergei Ryzhykov (Rubin Kazan)

Defenders: Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA Moscow), Alexei Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Vasily Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Alexander Anyukov (Zenit St Petersburg), Renat Yanbayev (Lokomotiv Moscow)

Midfielders: Diniyar Bilyaletdinov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Yuri Zhirkov (CSKA Moscow), Igor Semshov (Dynamo Moscow), Dmitry Torbinsky (Lokomotiv Moscow), Konstantin Zyryanov (Zenit St Petersburg), Sergei Semak (Rubin Kazan), Vladimir Bystrov (Spartak Moscow), Igor Denisov (Zenit St Petersburg), Alan Dzagoyev (CSKA Moscow)

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Zenit St Petersburg), Pavel Pogrebnyak (Zenit St Petersburg), Roman Pavlyuchenko (Tottenham Hotspur), Ivan Saenko (Spartak Moscow), Alexander Prudnikov (Spartak Moscow).


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.