VfL Wolfsburg
Bayern Munich
6:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Paris Saint-Germain
7:00 PM UTC
Game Details
New York City FC
Montreal Impact
6:00 PM UTC
Game Details
New England Revolution
Toronto FC
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Colorado Rapids
LA Galaxy
1:00 AM UTC Aug 2, 2015
Game Details
2:00 PM UTC Aug 2, 2015
Game Details
San Jose Earthquakes
Portland Timbers
ESPN2 9:00 PM UTC Aug 2, 2015
Game Details

Man United to lose £15m on Di Maria?

Transfer Talk

Show Cech respect - Ivanovic

By ESPN Staff

Mainz to host Georgia's qualifier with Ireland

LONDON, Aug 28 (Reuters) - Georgia will play their home World Cup qualifier against Ireland on September 6 in the German city of Mainz, FIFA announced on Thursday.

The European Group Eight qualifier was moved by world soccer's ruling body from Tbilisi to a neutral venue due to the tensions in Georgia following a military conflict with Russia over the breakaway South Ossetia province earlier this month.

The conflict erupted when Georgia sent in troops and tanks to try to take back the province, provoking a huge counter-attack from Russia.

After playing Ireland, Georgia travel to Udine, Italy, to take on the world champions in their next qualifier on Sept. 10.

Meanwhile, Georgia coach Hector Cuper has named the following 26-man squad for the 2010 World Cup, European Group Eight qualifiers at home to Ireland on Sept. 6 and away to Italy four days later:

Goalkeepers: Giorgi Loria (Dinamo Tbilisi), Giorgi Makaridze (Dinamo Tbilisi), Roin Kvaskhvadze (FC Zestaponi)

Defenders: Kakha Kaladze (AC Milan), Zurab Khizanishvili (Blackburn Rovers), Mate Gvinianidze (1860 Munich), Malkhaz Asatiani (Lokomotiv Moscow), Lasha Salukvadze (Rubin Kazan), Zaal Eliava (Dinamo Tbilisi), Giorgi Shashiashvili (Sturm Graz), Alexandre Kvakhadze (WIT Georgia Tbilisi), Ucha Lobzhanidze (FC Zestaponi)

Midfielders: Levan Kenia (Schalke 04), Levan Kobiashvili (Schalke 04), Zurab Menteshashvili (FK Ventspils), Davit Mujiri (Lokomotiv Moscow), Dato Kvirkvelia (Rubin Kazan), Gogita Gogua (Spartak Nalchik), Levan Khmaladze (Dinamo Tbilisi), Davit Odikadze (Dinamo Tbilisi), Irakli Klimiashvili (WIT Georgia Tbilisi)

Forwards: Alexandre Iashvili (Karlsruhe SC), Davit Siradze (Spartak Nalchik), Levan Mchedlidze (Empoli), Rati Aleksidze (Lokomotivi Tbilisi), Beka Gotsiridze (FC Zestaponi).


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.