Melbourne Victory
(4) 1
(3) 1
Game Details
Leicester City
4:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Portland Timbers
LA Galaxy
7:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Montreal Impact
Philadelphia Union
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Columbus Crew SC
Orlando City SC
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
New England Revolution
Chicago Fire
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Houston Dynamo
Vancouver Whitecaps
1:30 AM UTC Jul 24, 2016
Game Details

Hull crisis deepens with Bruce exit

Hull City
By ESPN Staff

Sven recalls veteran Blanco to Mexico squad

Cuauhtemoc Blanco has been named in Sven-Goran Eriksson's 25-man Mexico squad for the World Cup qualifier against Honduras after a one-year absence. The 35-year-old Chicago Fire forward last played for the Tricolor as Mexico finished third in the 2007 Copa America. Former England coach Eriksson will take charge of his first game against Honduras at the Estadio Azteca on August 20. 'I think he still can contribute a lot to the national team,' said Eriksson. 'He is not so young, but he is enjoying a good run at his club, so I think he can give a lot of things to this group. 'The most important goal is to make it into the World Cup. A first goal is to play good football, but our main goal is the World Cup.' Naturalised duo Leandro Augusto Oldoni and Vicente Matias Vuoso along with Argentinean born Guillermo Franco, who played for Mexico at the 2006 world Cup, have also been included. Tottenham forward Giovani Dos Santos and Arsenal's Carlos Vela are also named in the squad, but Manchester City's Nery Castillo has been left out by his former coach. Mexico squad for World Cup qualifier against Honduras on August 20 - Oswaldo Sanchez (Santos Laguna), Guillermo Ochoa (America), Jose de Jesus Corona (Tecos); Rafael Marquez (Barcelona), Jonny Magallon (Guadalajara), Ricardo Osorio (Stuttgart), Carlos Salcido, Francisco Javier Rodriguez (both PSV Eindhoven), Aaron Galindo (Eintracht Frankfurt), Fausto Pinto (Pachuca), Edgar Castillo (Santos Laguna); Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul), Pavel Pardo (Stuttgart), Luis Perez (Monterrey), Fernando Arce (Santos Laguna), Andres Guardado (Deportivo La Coruna), Leandro Augusto Oldoni (Pumas), Francisco Torres (Santos Laguna); Guillermo Franco (Villarreal), Omar Bravo (Deportivo La Coruna), Carlos Vela (Arsenal), Cuauhtemoc Blanco (Chicago Fire), Carlos Ochoa (Monterrey), Vicente Matias Vuoso (Santos Laguna), Giovani dos Santos (Tottenham Hotspur).


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.