12:30 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details
Melbourne City FCMelbourne City FC
Western Sydney WanderersWestern Sydney Wanderers
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

122 forgotten heroes get World Cup medals

England's 'forgotten heroes' from the 1966 World Cup campaign are final to receive winners medals 41 years later. The 11 members of the squad who did not play in the final - including Jimmy Greaves, Jimmy Armfield and Peter Bonetti - are to be given gold medals by FIFA. The move follows calls by the FA and former sports minister Richard Caborn, who said it was unfair on those players when from 1978 onwards all members of the winning squads were given medals. The decision also means that Pele will be awarded a gold medal for the 1962 final, which he missed due to injury, meaning he will now be in the unique position of having three winners' medals. FIFA president Sepp Blatter told a news conference in Durban: 'Richard Caborn brought it up by saying `it's not right that only the 11 players got a medal'. 'I believe that is right we will go through our history records and reproduce medals, and we will give those medals to all those who have been in the squad and not just those who were on the field of play. 'It's justice for all those players and for those that have died, we will give the medal to their families.' The FA have been in touch with FIFA several times asking them to provide the medals. FA communications director Adrian Bevington said: 'We are absolutely delighted. 'This is something we have been in contact with FIFA about and there's a real feeling in England that the other squad members should receive a medal.' FIFA's ruling means 122 players who appeared in finals between 1930 and 1974, or their families, will receive gold medals. England's 1966 reserves (there were no substitutes): Jimmy Greaves (Tottenham), John Connelly (Man Utd), Ron Springett (Sheff Wed), Peter Bonetti (Chelsea), Jimmy Armfield (Blackpool), Gerry Byrne (Liverpool), Ron Flowers (Wolves), Norman Hunter (Leeds), Terry Paine (Southampton), Ian Callaghan (Liverpool), George Eastham (Arsenal).