Real Sociedad
Real Betis
10:30 AM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 0
Game Details
11:30 AM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 2
Game Details
12:30 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 1 - 2
Game Details
Derby CountyDerby County
(3) 2
(5) 2
Derby County wins 5-3 on Penalty Kicks.
Game Details
Real MadridReal Madrid
Leg 2Aggregate: 1 - 3
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

Finalists for Honda Award chosen

LOS ANGELES -- Carlos Bocanegra, Landon Donovan and Tim Howard are the finalists for the 2007 Honda Player of the Year award, presented annually to the U.S. National Team's outstanding performer.

The winner will be announced Oct. 5 during a luncheon at a downtown Los Angeles hotel. The finalists were chosen in a vote of 203 U.S. sports journalists.

Bocanegra, a finalist for the third time in five years, has been one of the national team's top defenders since making his debut in 2001. He has been playing for Fulham of the English Premier League since 2004.

Donovan, the only player to win the Honda Award three times (2002-04), leads the national team in goals scored this year and, with 34 goals, is tied with Eric Wynalda as the top scorer in national team history. He has been playing for the Los Angeles Galaxy of MLS since 2005.

Howard, a first-time finalist, has 10 shutouts in 24 games as a goalkeeper for the national team since making his debut in 2002. He currently starts in goal for Everton of the English Premier League.

Previous winners of the award besides Donovan are Clint Dempsey, who won last year; Kasey Keller, Earnie Stewart, Claudio Reyna, Cobi Jones, Eddie Pope, Wynalda, Alexi Lalas, Marcelo Balboa, Thomas Dooley and Huge Perez. The award was first presented in 1991.