DC United
Montreal Impact
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Seattle Sounders FC
Sporting Kansas City
2:00 AM UTC Oct 28, 2016
Game Details

Edin Dzeko continues flying form


Villa impresses Spain coach at NYCFC


Former Liverpool stars' returns


Romeu emerges from Chelsea

By ESPN Staff

Adu heads U.S. U-20 roster for qualifying

CHICAGO -- Freddy Adu headed the list of 20 players selected Monday for the U.S. roster in qualifying for the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Michael Bradley, son of interim U.S. national team coach Bob Bradley, was not made available for the qualifying tournament by his Dutch club, Heerenveen, the U.S. Soccer Federation said. Heerenveen did allow forward Robbie Rogers to take part in qualifiers, which will take place from Jan. 17-21 at Panama City, Panama.

Adu played in the tournament in 2003 and 2005, when it was known as the FIFA World Youth Championship.

Nine of the players selected by under-20 coach Thomas Rongen are professionals, including six from Major League Soccer. Among the pros are forwards Preston Zimmerman of Hamburg in Germany and Johann Smith of Bolton in England.

The Americans gather in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., on Wednesday, leave Saturday for Panama and play Haiti on Jan. 17, Guatemala on Jan. 19 and Panama on Jan. 21. The top two teams in the group advance to the U-20 World Cup, to be played in Canada from June 30-July 22. Two more teams will qualify when Costa Rica, Jamaica, Mexico and St. Kitts and Nevis compete in the other group, from Feb. 21-25 at Culiacan, Mexico.

The roster:

Goalkeepers: Brian Perk (UCLA), Chris Seitz (Maryland)

Defenders: Quavas Kirk (L.A. Galaxy), Ofori Sarkodie (Indiana), Nathan Sturgis (Los Angeles Galaxy), Julian Valentin (Wake Forest), Anthony Wallace (South Florida), Tim Ward (Columbus Crew)

Midfielders: Freddy Adu (Real Salt Lake), Bryan Arguez (West Kendal Optimists), Tony Beltran (UCLA), Amaechi Igwe (Santa Clara), Danny Szetela (Columbus Crew), Jonathan Villanueva (Virginia)

Forwards: Andre Akpan (Harvard), Josmer Altidore (N.Y. Red Bulls), Robbie Rogers (Heerenveen, Netherlands), Johann Smith (Bolton, England), Preston Zimmerman (Hamburg SV, Germany), Sal Zizzo (UCLA).