Paris Saint-Germain
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Real Sociedad
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Borussia Monchengladbach
Eintracht Frankfurt
6:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Queens Park Rangers
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Miami FC
FC Edmonton
12:00 AM UTC Oct 29, 2016
Game Details
Pumas UNAM
2:00 AM UTC Oct 29, 2016
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

Germany coach Loew calls up three untried players

BERLIN, Sept 29 (Reuters) - Coach Joachim Loew has called up three untried players to Germany's squad for next month's matches against Georgia and Slovakia.

Hamburg SV playmaker Piotr Trochowski, Alemannia Aachen forward Jan Schlaudraff and Werder Bremen defender Clemens Fritz make up the trio of uncapped outfield players in the squad announced on Friday.

Germany are top of Euro 2008 qualifying Group D after beating Ireland and San Marino in their two games so far.

They have a friendly against Georgia in Rostock on Oct. 7 before playing their third qualifying match away to Slovakia on Oct. 11.

Loew also called up Robert Enke, the 29-year-old Hanover 96 goalkeeper, for the first of the two games. Enke was in the squad for the Confederations Cup in 1999 in Mexico but has yet to play for Germany.

Missing from the squad are Gerald Asamoah, who suffered a compound leg fracture in Schalke 04's UEFA Cup defeat by Nancy on Thursday, and Werder Bremen pair Tim Borowski and Per Mertesacker.

Midfielder Borowski injured his left leg in Werder's 1-1 draw with Barcelona on Wednesday.

Centre-back Mertesacker made his comeback from a heel injury in that match but club coach Thomas Schaaf asked that he be given more time to complete his recovery.

Christoph Metzelder, Sebastian Kehl, Jens Nowotny, Robert Huth und Sebastian Deisler were also ruled out because of long standing injury problems.

Loew stepped up from the assistant's role to replace Juergen Klinsmann following Germany's third place finish at the World Cup in Germany.

Goalkeepers: Robert Enke (Hanover 96), Timo Hildebrand (VfB Stuttgart), Jens Lehmann (Arsenal, England)

Defenders: Malik Fathi (Hertha Berlin), Arne Friedrich (Hertha Berlin), Manuel Friedrich (Mainz), Clemens Fritz (Werder Bremen), Marcell Jansen (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Alexander Madlung (VfL Wolfsburg)

Midfielders: Michael Ballack (Chelsea, England), Torsten Frings (Werder Bremen), Thomas Hitzlsperger (VfB Stuttgart), David Odonkor (Real Betis, Spain), Bernd Schneider (Bayer Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Piotr Trochowski (Hamburg SV)

Forwards: Mike Hanke (VfL Wolfsburg), Miroslav Klose (Werder Bremen), Oliver Neuville (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Lukas Podolski (Bayern Munich), Jan Schlaudraff (Alemannia Aachen)