Tottenham Hotspur
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Borussia Monchengladbach
VfB Stuttgart
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Sparta Rotterdam
PSV Eindhoven
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
2:00 AM UTC Oct 26, 2016
Game Details
Cerro Porteño
Independiente Medellín
12:00 AM UTC Oct 26, 2016
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 0
Game Details

Trending: Mourinho open to selling Rooney


East Germany legend Hafner dies at 64

Dynamo Dresden
By ESPN Staff

Flamengo beat 10-man Vasco to win Copa Brasil

RIO DE JANEIRO, July 26 (Reuters) - Flamengo beat 10-man Vasco da Gama 1-0 in the second leg of the final to win the Copa Brasil 3-0 on aggregate on Wednesday.

Vasco, trailing 2-0 from last week's first leg, were in further trouble when striker Valdir Papel was sent off for a crunching tackle from behind in the 17th minute. He had been booked in the third minute for a similar foul.

As he left the field, he was pushed down the touchline by his furious coach Renato Portaluppi.

'It's unacceptable that you give a player a chance like that and he gets sent off for doing the same thing twice,' said Renato.

Flamengo had the better of a cynical game between the bitter rivals which was marred by more than 50 fouls, play-acting, gamesmanship and unsavoury tackles.

Full back Juan scored in the 28th minute with a low shot from the edge of the area after Leonardo Moura's shot had deflected off a defender.

It was Flamengo's first national title since 1992 when they won the Brazilian championship and qualified for the next year's South American Libertadores Cup.

The club claim to be Brazil's most popular but in recent years have suffered from chaotic administration and chronic financial problems.

This year alone, they have employed three different coaches with Ney Franco currently in charge.

Flamengo previously won the Copa Brasil, a knockout competition which in the early stages features teams from the remotest corners of the vast country, in 1990.

They were beaten finalists in 1997, 2003 and 2004. Cruzeiro are the most successful club since the competition began in 1989 with four titles.