Tottenham Hotspur
6:45 PM UTC Oct 25, 2016
Game Details
6:45 PM UTC Oct 25, 2016
Game Details
AC Milan
6:45 PM UTC Oct 25, 2016
Game Details
Borussia Monchengladbach
VfB Stuttgart
6:45 PM UTC Oct 25, 2016
Game Details
Sparta Rotterdam
PSV Eindhoven
6:45 PM UTC Oct 25, 2016
Game Details
2:00 AM UTC Oct 26, 2016
Game Details
Cerro Porteño
Independiente Medellín
12:00 AM UTC Oct 26, 2016
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 0
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

Arena names training camp roster

CHICAGO -- Landon Donovan and Eddie Johnson head a 30-man roster announced Tuesday for the U.S. soccer team's first training camp of 2006, and 16-year-old Freddy Adu was invited to practice with the group for the first time.

Donovan led the Americans with six goals this year. Johnson scored eight goals in his first eight games with the national team but missed much of the year because of an injured toe.

Adu also is eligible to play for Ghana, a first-round opponent of the United States at the World Cup, but has said repeatedly he intends to remain in the U.S. program.

Only one European-based player was picked, defender Heath Pearce of Denmark's FC Nordsjaelland. He made his national team debut last month in a 1-1 tie at Scotland.

Players will start practice Jan. 4 at Carson, Calif., as many try to earn spots on U.S. coach Bruce Arena's 23-man World Cup roster. The United States has exhibition games against Canada on Jan. 22 at San Diego, Norway on Jan. 29 at Carson, Calif., and Japan on Feb. 10 at San Francisco. Another game might be scheduled for Feb. 19 in the Dallas area.

"We view this camp and the games in January and February as critical toward our preparation for Germany," Arena said.

The U.S. team will have its Europe-based players for a game there March 1 against an opponent yet to be determined. The Americans also play at Germany on March 22.

At the World Cup, the United States plays the Czech Republic, Italy and Ghana in the first round.

The full roster:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Chivas USA), Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles), Matt Reis (New England), Jonny Walker (Columbus).

Defenders: Chris Albright (Los Angeles), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City), Todd Dunivant (Los Angeles), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus), Ugo Ihemelu (Los Angeles), Chad Marshall (Columbus), Heath Pearce (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark), Eddie Pope (Salt Lake).

Midfielders: Freddy Adu (D.C.), Brian Carroll (D.C.), Ricardo Clark (Houston), Clint Dempsey (New England), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles), Justin Mapp (Chicago), Kyle Martino (Columbus), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado), Pat Noonan (New England), Ben Olsen (D.C.), Santino Quaranta (D.C.), Steve Ralston (New England).

Forwards: Brian Ching (Houston), Nate Jaqua (Chicago), Eddie Johnson (Dallas), Chris Rolfe (Chicago), Taylor Twellman (New England), Josh Wolff (Kansas City).