Huddersfield Town
Manchester City
5:30 AM UTC
Game Details
Tottenham Hotspur
8:00 AM UTC
Game Details
Central Coast MarinersCentral Coast Mariners
Brisbane RoarBrisbane Roar
Game Details
Melbourne VictoryMelbourne Victory
Wellington Phoenix FCWellington Phoenix FC
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

2004 Women's D-I All-America Team

Four schools took the lion's share of spots on the first team as North Carolina, Portland, Penn State and Princeton each placed two players on the first team of the 2004 NSCAA/adidas Women's NCAA Division I All-America Team. North Carolina, the 2003 national champion, saw Hermann finalist Heather O'Reilly (East Brunswick, N.J.) joined by junior midfielder Lori Chalupny (St. Louis, Mo.) on the first team. Portland had a pair of juniors chosen in forward Christine Sinclair (Burnaby, British Columbia) and midfielder Lindsey Huie (Laguna Woods, Calif.), while Penn State placed sophomore forward Tiffany Weimer (North Haven, Conn.) and junior defender Natalie Jacobs (Centreville, Va.) on the first team. Princeton, which became the first Ivy League school to make a Women's College Cup appearance, was represented by freshman midfielder Diana Matheson (Oakville, Ontario) and senior forward Esmeralda Negron (Harrington Park, N.J.). Huie and Tennessee senior defender Keeley Dowling (Carmel, Ind.) each earned All-America honors for the third time in their college careers as 14 of the 34 players were repeat selections. Other schools with multiple representatives included national champion Notre Dame and Big 12 champion Kansas, both of which placed three athletes on the squad. The athletes selected to the team will be invited to the NSCAA All-America Luncheon, which will be held on Saturday, Jan. 15, as part of the 2005 NSCAA Convention in Baltimore, Md.

2004 NSCAA / adidas Women's D-I All-America Team
Position Name Class School
First Team
GK Nicole Barnhart* Jr. Stanford
D Keeley Dowling** Sr. Tennessee
D Holly Gault So. Kansas
D Natalie Jacobs Jr. Penn State
M Lori Chalupny* Jr. North Carolina
M Lindsay Huie** Jr. Portland
M Diana Matheson Fr. Princeton
M Leslie Osborn Sr. Santa Clara
F Esmeralda Negron* Sr. Princeton
F Heather O'Reilly* So. North Carolina
F Christine Sinclair* Jr. Portland
F Tiffany Weimer* So. Penn State
Second Team
GK Meghan Miller Sr. Kansas
D Haley Hunt Jr. Stanford
D Melissa Miller* So. Ohio State
D Melissa Tancredi* Sr. Notre Dame
M Lara Dickenmann Fr. Ohio State
M Sarah Huffman Jr. Virginia
M Jill Oakes Jr. UCLA
F Christina Frimpong Sr. Washington
F Tara Hurless* Sr. Illinois
F Megan Kakadelas Sr. Santa Clara
F Katie Thorlakson Jr. Notre Dame
Third Team
GK Erin McLeod Jr. Penn State
D Liza Barber Sr. Harvard
D Ronda Brooks So. Auburn
D Jennifer Simonetti Sr. Dayton
M Jennifer Buczkowski So. Notre Dame
M Fran Munnelly Jr. Colorado
M Brittany Timko So. Nebraska
F Kristen Graczyk* Sr. Connecticut
F Laura Kane Sr. West Virginia
F Iris Mora* Jr. UCLA
F Caroline Smith* Jr. Kansas
(* denotes repeat selection)

Founded in 1941, the NSCAA has grown into the nation's largest coaching organization regardless of sport. Its 17,000 members coach at all levels of the game and are dedicated to coaching education as well as recognizing achievement in soccer. The NSCAA's annual convention is "The World's Largest Gathering of Soccer Coaches."



    Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.