Featured Matches
Previous
Modena
Cittadella
1
1
FT
Game Details
SpVgg Greuther Furth
St Pauli
3
0
FT
Game Details
Brest
AS Nancy Lorraine
2
0
FT
Game Details
Lanús
Olimpo de Bahía Blanca
1
1
FT
Game Details
Arsenal de Sarandí
Banfield
1
0
LIVE 77'
Game Details
Tigre
Quilmes
12:30 AM GMT
Game Details
La Equidad
Atlético Nacional
1:00 AM GMT
Game Details
Modena
Cittadella
1
1
FT
Game Details
SpVgg Greuther Furth
St Pauli
3
0
FT
Game Details
Brest
AS Nancy Lorraine
2
0
FT
Game Details
Rio Ave
Boavista
4
0
FT
Game Details
OFI Crete
Veria
0
1
FT
Game Details
Hobro IK
FC Vestsjaelland
3
1
FT
Game Details
Lucerne
FC Aarau
Postp
Game Details
Lanús
Olimpo de Bahía Blanca
1
1
FT
Game Details
Arsenal de Sarandí
Banfield
1
0
LIVE 77'
Game Details
Tigre
Quilmes
12:30 AM GMT
Game Details
La Equidad
Atlético Nacional
1:00 AM GMT
Game Details
Next

Amalfitano seals West Ham move

Transfer News 3 hours ago
Read
ESPN FC Posted by ESPN staff
Mar 24, 2014

Marriner avoids punishment for error

Referee Andre Marriner appears to have avoided any punishment despite sending off Kieran Gibbs instead of Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain during Arsenal’s 6-0 defeat at Chelsea on Saturday after being given a Premier League game to officiate this weekend.

Mangan: Arsenal's mental fragility exposed

Gibbs was shown a red card in the first half at Stamford Bridge by Marriner after Gunners teammate Oxlade-Chamberlain was ruled to have handballed Eden Hazard's shot at goal inside the area.

The official appeared to wrongly identify left-back Gibbs as the player who handled the ball and gave him his marching orders, despite Oxlade-Chamberlain's apparent protestations that he was the guilty party.

Marriner, who admitted his mistake to Arsenal after the game, was expected to be taken off duty in the Premier League this weekend following the incident.

However, the Premier League confirmed on Monday that the 43-year-old will take charge of Southampton vs. Newcastle at St Mary’s on Saturday.

 

Marriner caused controversy earlier this season after giving Chelsea a late penalty against West Brom, despite Ramires appearing to dive.

After the game, then-Baggies boss Steve Clarke claimed that he had a phone call from head of Professional Game and Match Officials Ltd Mike Riley to apologise for the mistake.

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.