Game Details
San Marino
ESPN3 10:00 AM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Northern Ireland
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
ESPN3 12:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Game Details
By ESPN Staff

France win Under-20 World Cup final

ISTANBUL -- France won the Under-20 World Cup for the first time after drawing with Uruguay 0-0 after extra time and winning the penalty shootout 4-1 on Saturday.

France goalkeeper Alphonse Areola saved Uruguay's first two penalties -- from Emiliano Valazquez and Giorgian De Arrascatea -- before Dimitri Foulquier converted the fourth for France, giving the Europeans an insurmountable lead.

The French celebrated for minutes on the field with rhythmic dance moves, singing and waving to fans, before captain Paul Pogba lifted the trophy.

In the 36-year history of the event, France are the sixth European champion, but only the second in the past 20 years following Spain's victory in 1999.

Uruguay suffered their second defeat in a final after losing to Argentina in 1997.

France had a modest start at their fifth appearance to the tournament with a draw against the United States and a defeat by Spain, but the team improved in the knockout stage.

France found fluency in their attacking game and eased past host Turkey (4-1) and Uzbekistan (4-0), before edging Ghana 2-1 in the semifinals.

• Blog: Pogba was World Cup's top player

"I didn't hesitate about the players at all," France coach Pierre Mankowski said about the slow start. "The first round of matches is always difficult ... it was a killer group."

Pogba, who was voted best player of the tournament by FIFA, kept the balance in the team by leading the midfield, while strikers Yaya Sanogo, Florian Thauvin and Jean-Christophe Bahebeck shared nine goals between them to make France the second-highest scoring team of the tournament with 15 goals in seven matches, one short of Ghana, which beat Iraq 3-0 earlier Saturday to finish third.

France conceded just two goals in the knockout stage, and kept a clean sheet in the final despite missing suspended defender Samuel Umtiti, who was sent off for a second booking against Ghana.

Uruguay were not regarded as one of the tournament favorites despite defeating 2011 champion Brazil in qualifying.

"There was hardly any difference between both teams today," coach Juan Verzeri said. "Small details were always going to decide the final. I am proud of what we've achieved."

They beat Spain in extra time in the quarterfinals and were held to 1-1 by unheralded Iraq in the semis before advancing on penalties.

Six players of Verzeri's squad missed out on a world title for the second time after also losing the Under-17 World Cup final to host Mexico in 2011.

In Saturday's final, France dominated ball possession, but Uruguay created more danger, mainly through Lopez, who had four more shots on goal.

After the match, Uruguay's Guillermo De Amores was named best goalkeeper of the tournament by FIFA, while Ghana's Ebenezer Assifuah won the Golden Boot for being the top goal-scorer with six.

Ghana 3, Iraq 0

Ebenezer Assifuah's tournament-leading sixth goal helped Ghana beat Iraq 3-0 in the tournament's third-place match.

Assifuah scored Ghana's second with a low angled shot on halftime.

Defender Joseph Attamah's header from a corner gave Ghana the lead 10 minutes earlier. Frank Acheampong added the third from a counterattack in the 78th.

The winners in 2009, Ghana were the only former champion left in the semifinals.

Iraq matched their best achievement in a FIFA competition after also coming fourth at the 2004 Athens Olympics.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.