Previous
Crystal Palace
Liverpool
3
1
FT
Game Details
Hull City
Tottenham Hotspur
1
2
FT
Game Details
Napoli
Cagliari
3
3
FT
Game Details
AC Milan
Internazionale
1
1
FT
Game Details
New York Red Bulls
New England Revolution
1
2
FT
Leg 1
Game Details
Los Angeles Galaxy
Seattle Sounders FC
1
0
FT
Leg 1
Game Details
Marseille
Bordeaux
3
1
FT
Game Details
Next
Jun 23, 2013

Ref admits error in allowing Italy goal

RIO DE JANEIRO -- FIFA says the referee who awarded Italy a goal after first whistling for a penalty in Saturday's match against Brazil acknowledges making the wrong call.

Referee Ravshan Irmatov blew his whistle to award Italy a penalty. Moments later, as play continued, Giorgio Chiellini scored. Irmatov was seen pointing at the penalty spot and then giving a goal.

FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola said: "He has admitted he made a mistake."

Irmatov is a widely respected referee from Uzbekistan who had been expected to have a chance to referee the Confederations Cup final. Now he is expected to be sent home with his assistants, who also made two key errors in Saturday's game.

Brazil won the match 4-2.

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.