West Ham United
Dec 26, 2014 12:45 PM GMT
Game Details
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Stoke City
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Manchester United
Newcastle United
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Leicester City
Tottenham Hotspur
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
West Bromwich Albion
Manchester City
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Queens Park Rangers
Dec 26, 2014 5:30 PM GMT
Game Details

Five trends of the 2014-15 Premier League

Tactics & Analysis

Top 10 moments for Liga MX in 2014

Liga MX

Perez to continue as Madrid president

Florentino Perez is set to continue in his role as president of Real Madrid after standing unopposed for re-election.

• Perez confirms Mou return
• Arbeloa attacks Real

The La Liga club's electoral board met on Sunday to confirm that Perez will remain in the post having been the only candidate to put himself forward.

The 66-year, whose investiture ceremony will take place on Tuesday afternoon in the directors' box at the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu, was widely expected to continue in the role for another four-year term.

Perez first held the post from 2000 to 2006, before returning to the club for a second spell in 2009.

His first six years saw Madrid pick up two La Liga titles as well as the Champions League, while the era was characterised by the 'Galacticos' policy which saw the arrival of players such as Luis Figo, Zinedine Zidane, David Beckham and Ronaldo for large transfer fees.

Perez's first stint came to an end when he quit in February 2006, having gone three years without winning a major trophy.

However, he returned to the role three years later after his three potential rivals all withdrew from the election race, with the €57.4 million bank guarantee proving to be a stumbling block.

Following his re-election, Madrid brought in the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka, Karim Benzema and Xabi Alonso in the summer of 2009, at a cost of £225 million.

Manuel Pellegrini, who had been appointed as coach, was dismissed the following summer with Jose Mourinho being brought in as his replacement.

The Portuguese led the club to the La Liga title, the Copa del Rey and the Spanish Supercopa during his three-year spell in charge, before leaving his post following Saturday's win against Osasuna.

Information from the Press Association was used in this report


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.