Bristol Rovers
West Bromwich Albion
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
AFC Bournemouth
Cardiff City
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Sevilla FC
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Bolton Wanderers
Chievo Verona
7:00 PM UTC
Game Details
12:30 AM UTC Aug 1, 2015
Game Details
VfL Wolfsburg
Bayern Munich
6:30 PM UTC Aug 1, 2015
Game Details

Where is Angel Di Maria?

The Toe Poke

Stuttgart hopeful Rudiger will stay


Arsenal loan Toral to Birmingham


Man City loan striker Unal to Genk


Arsenal vs. Chelsea in Community Shield

50-50 Challenge

Bale scoops PFA awards double

Gareth Bale has been voted the PFA player of the year and young player of the year for the 2012-13 season

Tottenham winger Gareth Bale has won the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award and also been named Young Player of the Year for the 2012-13 season.

• Brewin: Gareth Bale, first among equals
• Bale's season in pictures Photo Gallery

Bale, 23, beat off stiff competition from Luis Suarez, Robin van Persie, Michael Carrick, Juan Mata and Eden Hazard to claim the accolade, voted for by his fellow professionals.

The Welshman also picked up the young player gong, awarded to those players aged 23 or under at the start of the season, pipping Hazard, Christian Benteke, Romelu Lukaku, Danny Welbeck and Jack Wilshere to the prize.

Bale, who won the award for the first time in 2011, becomes the first person to be crowned both Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year since Cristiano Ronaldo in 2007.

He also joins Ronaldo in an prestigious group of two-time winners of the Player of the Year award alongside Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer, who both claimed the award twice while playing for Arsenal and Newcastle respectively.

Bale has enjoyed a fine season with Spurs, scoring 19 goals in 30 Premier League games to help Andre Villas-Boas' side push towards Champions League qualification.

"It's a massive honour," Bale said at the PFA awards ceremony in London. "To be voted by your peers is one of the biggest things in the game. It's great to win it and I am delighted.

"When you look at the list, there are some massive names on it but I couldn't have done it without the team. They have been fantastic this year and so has the manager.

"The other nominees have been unbelievable, they have been outstanding for their clubs and it's a massive moment to win, especially as it's both awards and it's something that I'm extremely proud of."

All five nominees for the Player of the Year award, including controversial Liverpool striker Suarez, were selected for the PFA's Team of the Year, with Premier League champions Manchester United boasting four players - David De Gea, Rio Ferdinand, Carrick and Van Persie - in the XI


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.