Tottenham Hotspur
Atletico Madrid
Game Details
Dynamo Dresden
6:30 PM UTC
Game Details
AFC Bournemouth
7:00 PM UTC
Game Details
2:00 AM UTC Jul 30, 2016
Game Details

Trending: Pogba to seal Man United return

By ESPN Staff

Four Wanderers in A-League team of year

Western Sydney Wanderers have been rewarded for their impressive debut season with four players earning spots in the A-League team of the year selected by their peers.

Marquee star Shinji Ono, goalkeeper Ante Covic and defenders Nikolai Topor-Stanley and Jerome Polenz all won spots in the Professional Football Australia (PFA) team of the season.

The Wanderers' Tony Popovic was also named coach.

Melbourne Victory also had four players named in the overall 16-man squad including team captain Mark Milligan, plus Archie Thompson was included on the five-man bench.

Seven A-League clubs were represented in the team.

Sydney FC's former Italian international Alessandro Del Piero was also picked after his stellar season.

The PFA team is (4-3-3 formation): Ante Covic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Jerome Polenz (Western Sydney Wanderers), Trent Sainsbury (Central Coast Mariners), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers), Adama Traore (Melbourne Victory), Shinji Ono (Western Sydney Wanderers), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory, capt), Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners), Jeremy Brockie (Wellington Phoenix), Alessandro Del Piero (Sydney FC), Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory). Substitutes: Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United), Michael Thwaite (Perth Glory), Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory), Daniel McBreen (Central Coast Mariners). Coach: Tony Popovic (Western Sydney Wanderers) Referee: Strebre Delovski.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.