Manchester United
4:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Tottenham Hotspur
Stoke City
1:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Norwich City
Ipswich Town
12:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Atletico Madrid
3:15 PM UTC
Game Details
Real Madrid
7:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Schalke 04
TSG Hoffenheim
4:30 PM UTC
Game Details
AC Milan
2:00 PM UTC
Game Details
AS Roma
7:45 PM UTC
Game Details
Paris Saint-Germain
8:00 PM UTC
Game Details

Infantino: Five things done and left to do


Swansea seizes League Cup in record rout

Premier League Swansea City fired five goals past Bradford City in a record 5-0 rout to win the Capital One Cup final at Wembley Stadium and claim its first major trophy.

Nathan Dyer scored twice, Michu found the net before the break and Jonathan De Guzman's double confirmed the biggest win in final history with Bradford's evening also made sour by the dismissal of goalkeeper Matt Duke for conceding the penalty that brought Swansea's fourth goal.

Ten years after they teetered on the edge of oblivion, the Swans will now stride into Europe after its Cup final stroll against 10-man Bradford.

"The first trophy is always special and next year in Europe will be a nice experience," said Swansea manager Michael Laudrup, the Denmark great.

It was the first time a Welsh club won an English cup since Cardiff's success in the 1927 FA Cup.

After beating three Barclays Premier League outfits on their way to Wembley, League Two Bradford found Swansea an altogether different proposition.

The scene was set inside the first minute, which Bradford spent chasing the ball as Swansea zipped it around with relish. Swansea did not actually threaten Duke's goal until Ben Davies won a towering far-post header which he sent inches wide.

Swansea broke with pace, Dyer to the excellent Wayne Routledge and on to Michu, two passes taking them from the edge of one area to the other. Michu arrowed his shot for the far corner. Duke dived despairingly to his left, failed to get a firm enough touch and allowed Dyer to slide in from an acute angle.

"The early goal killed us," Duke said. "It is disappointing but this is a massive plus for the football club, a massive achievement and we have to remember that."

Leon Britton should have doubled Swansea's lead when Bradford cleared a corner invitingly into his path, but the sliced effort flew wide. It was only a matter of time before the West Yorkshire outfit cracked again though. Pablo Hernandez placed the ball through Gary Jones' legs before Michu curled it between Carl McHugh's in the bottom corner.

Phil Parkinson desperately needed to stabilize the situation. Unfortunately, within 15 minutes of the restart it had careered completely out of control as more intricate Swansea passing opened Bradford up, with Routledge providing the pass which Dyer stepped inside off before slotting home his second.

Dyer then slid a pass through to De Guzman, who nipped round Duke only to be taken down by the keeper. Referee Kevin Friend brandished a red card but the drama came with Dyer's furious reaction to De Guzman's refusal to stand down as penalty taker, even though his teammate stood on the brink of becoming the first man in history to score a hat trick in a final.

It was an argument that continued for the entire length of time it took Jon McLaughlin to replace Nahki Wells and thankfully for De Guzman, he kept his cool to score, with Dyer then offering his congratulations.

Thankfully, Bradford avoided complete catastrophe, their loyal supporters cheering their first corner on 83 minutes and even a shot not long afterwards. They stayed to cheer their team up the steps too, when most losers head straight off into the night. By then De Guzman had his second and Swansea had the record -- and, most joyously, the cup.

Information from Press Association and The Associated Press was used in this report.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.