Previous
Ajax Amsterdam
Manchester United
0
2
FT
Game Details
France U20
Vietnam U20
4
0
FT
Game Details
Ecuador U20
Saudi Arabia U20
1
2
FT
Game Details
New Zealand U20
Honduras U20
2
0
LIVE 33'
Game Details
Senegal U20
United States U20
0
0
LIVE 34'
Game Details
Troyes
Lorient
6:45 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details
VfL Wolfsburg
TSV Eintracht Braunschweig
6:30 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details
Chicago Fire
FC Dallas
12:30 AM UTC May 26, 2017
Game Details
U.A.N.L
Guadalajara
2:00 AM UTC May 26, 2017
Leg 1
Game Details
Next

Chelsea and Celtic top Cup bets

Betting Blog
Read

Trending: 'We played for Manchester' - Pogba

Latest
Read

'Managing Cameroon is heaven' - Hugo Broos

Read

Transfer Rater: Ross Barkley to Man United

Transfers
Read

Inter Milan kit looks like a barcode

Toe Poke
Read

Baxter names first South Africa squad

Read

Kane's 7 goals not enough for TOTW

Toe Poke
Read

Ferguson avoids FA reprimand for ref rant

Sir Alex Ferguson has avoided disciplinary action after he confronted officials during Manchester United's dramatic 4-3 win over Newcastle on Boxing Day.

Sir Alex Ferguson will not face disciplinary for confronting officials during Manchester United's dramatic 4-3 win over Newcastle on Boxing Day.

• Rooney out for up to three weeks
• Martin: Man Utd win thriller
• Jolly: United's perfect timing
• Blog: United in epic fightback
• ESPN Bloggers' mid-season review

The United boss was furious when referee Mike Dean overruled assistant Jake Collin and awarded Newcastle's second goal - Collin had flagged Papiss Cisse offside when Jonny Evans turned the ball into his own net, but Dean ruled the striker had not been interfering with play.

However, the FA has confirmed it received no complaint from Dean in his post-match report, meaning Ferguson is in the clear.

United moved seven points clear of rivals Manchester City with a dramatic late win at Old Trafford, but Ferguson was still upset that Dean awarded the goal.

"Mike Dean doesn't have the benefit of what I have got in terms of video replay," Ferguson said. "It's clear. The linesman correctly whistled for offside because [Cisse] was in an offside position and he pulled Jonny Evans' arm. If that's not interference then what is? And that was the point I was making to Mike Dean.

"He said it was an own-goal, so it didn't matter that the player was offside but when you see the video replay he is certainly interfering with the play. The referee changed the linesman's mind. If you see it again, and the referee can't see it, that's where his linesman has to come into it."

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.