Previous
Toulouse
Lens
6:30 PM GMT
Game Details
Werder Bremen
FC Cologne
6:30 PM GMT
Game Details
Aberdeen
Motherwell
6:45 PM GMT
Game Details
Fulham
Charlton Athletic
6:45 PM GMT
Game Details
Celta Vigo
Levante
7:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Brisbane Roar
Sydney FC
0
2
FT
Game Details
Next

50-50 Challenge: Real Madrid vs. Barcelona

El Clasico 18 hours ago
Read

Who will win El Clasico?

Poll less than a minute ago
Read

Cobos: Neymar stronger in 2014-15

Barcelona 21 hours ago
Read

Lamela wonder-goal, Kane's keeper clanger

Blog - The Toe Poke 17 hours ago
Read

Duarte: Luiz Adriano full of ambition

FC United 24 minutes ago
Read
Dec 27, 2012

Ferguson avoids FA reprimand for ref rant

Sir Alex Ferguson has avoided disciplinary action after he confronted officials during Manchester United's dramatic 4-3 win over Newcastle on Boxing Day.

Sir Alex Ferguson will not face disciplinary for confronting officials during Manchester United's dramatic 4-3 win over Newcastle on Boxing Day.

• Rooney out for up to three weeks
• Martin: Man Utd win thriller
• Jolly: United's perfect timing
• Blog: United in epic fightback
• ESPN Bloggers' mid-season review

The United boss was furious when referee Mike Dean overruled assistant Jake Collin and awarded Newcastle's second goal - Collin had flagged Papiss Cisse offside when Jonny Evans turned the ball into his own net, but Dean ruled the striker had not been interfering with play.

However, the FA has confirmed it received no complaint from Dean in his post-match report, meaning Ferguson is in the clear.

United moved seven points clear of rivals Manchester City with a dramatic late win at Old Trafford, but Ferguson was still upset that Dean awarded the goal.

"Mike Dean doesn't have the benefit of what I have got in terms of video replay," Ferguson said. "It's clear. The linesman correctly whistled for offside because [Cisse] was in an offside position and he pulled Jonny Evans' arm. If that's not interference then what is? And that was the point I was making to Mike Dean.

"He said it was an own-goal, so it didn't matter that the player was offside but when you see the video replay he is certainly interfering with the play. The referee changed the linesman's mind. If you see it again, and the referee can't see it, that's where his linesman has to come into it."

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.