Adelaide's Neumann in dive furore again
Adelaide United striker Jeronimo Neumann's cards appear to have been marked as a diver by A-League referees.
Neumann was denied a penalty on Thursday night in Adelaide's 1-0 loss to Brisbane Roar when brought down in the box.
Instead, referee Adam Kersey issued a yellow card to the Argentine striker in a simulation ruling which infuriated Adelaide.
Neumann was infamously labelled a cheat by Wellington Phoenix captain Andrew Durante for alleged diving in a round four clash in October.
The Reds recruit was cleared by Football Federation Australia but Adelaide coach John Kosmina has hinted a diving stigma remains on Neumann.
Asked if referees were conscious of the October diving controversy when now judging Neumann, Kosmina replied: "Funnily enough, that has been suggested to me by someone that knows much more about refereeing than I do."
Kosmina diplomatically declined to elaborate, but said Neumann should have been awarded a penalty against the Roar.
"Looking at the replay, I think he got clipped so that has to be a pen (penalty) doesn't it," Kosmina said.
"I think he got fouled.
"He was in the box, replays show he got fouled, he certainly didn't dive - he stretched for the ball and he got his foot stood on.
"So if it's in the box it has to be a pen, doesn't it."
Adelaide, having lost consecutive games, host Sydney FC on New Year's Eve.