Nani shot without Sir Alex's consent
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson said he did not send Nani to take a penalty in Wednesday's Champions League match, and in fact had no idea why Nani ended up taking the kick, which failed.
"I think he just ran and grabbed the ball," said the United boss. "I thought Robin (van Persie) should have taken it, to be honest with you. I think we will have to decide before the game. That was my fault, I should have done that."
Nani said he would be willing to take another penalty despite Wednesday's miss -- but it does not look like he will get the chance.
The Portugal winger accepted the responsibility in the Champions League clash with Galatasaray at Old Trafford, and promptly became the third United player this season to fail, following van Persie and Javier Hernandez.
"I took a bad penalty, van Persie took a bad one," admitted Nani. "I am sure next time, no matter who takes it, we will score. I would take one again. If the manager agrees I would do it -- and score."
In the end, it did not matter as Michael Carrick's seventh-minute effort proved sufficient to secure a 1-0 win.
Galatasaray had penalty appeals at the start and end of the game turned down, hit the woodwork twice and also forced a magnificent double save out of David de Gea.
"We became very careless and every time we lost the ball, they counter-attacked and were a threat," Ferguson said. "Missing the penalty kick kept them in the game."
Now United can prepare for what is bound to be a tense visit to Liverpool on Sunday.
It will be the Merseysiders first game at Anfield since the damning judgement on Hillsborough was delivered last week and Ferguson has already appealed for calm.
United will again be without Wayne Rooney for that game, as the striker remains troubled by his gashed thigh despite claims he had returned to full training and might even have been involved this evening.
"I don't where that story came from," said Ferguson. "He was never close."
Asked whether the weekend fixture would also be too soon for the England striker, United's long-serving manager simply replied: "Yes."
Information from Press Association was used in this report.