Real Sociedad
Game Details
Deportivo La Coruña
Game Details

Garriock ready to lead Canberra

By ESPN Staff

Glory re-sign Pantelidis and Heffernan

Perth Glory have re-signed key duo Steve Pantelidis and Dean Heffernan for the 2012-13 A-League season.

Pantelidis, a midfielder by trade, was a revelation for the Glory in defence last season, forming a strong central partnership with Bas van den Brink.

Heffernan arrived at the Glory mid-season after a stint in China, and recovered from a knee injury to play a vital role in the club's charge to the finals.

The former Victory speedster played roles in defence and through the midfield, but his season ended on a disappointing note when he was red-carded in the dying stages of Perth's 2-1 grand final defeat to Brisbane Roar.

The Glory have made a flurry of signings this week, bringing the number of players locked in for next season up to 18.

Former Perth midfielder Nick Ward will return to the club six years after his departure, while Gold Coast's Chris Harold and Melbourne Heart's Adrian Zahra have also been picked up.

Glory youth league players Brandon O'Neill, 18, and Ndumba Makeche, 20, were upgraded to the senior squad.

But classy defender Scott Neville and attacking midfielder Steve McGarry are still weighing up whether to accept reduced deals from the Glory, who have embarked on a major cost-cutting mission.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.