Atletico assistant given three-game ban
Atletico Madrid assistant coach German Burgos has been given a three-match touchline ban for his 'aggressive protests' after Diego Costa was denied a penalty during last weekend’s 2-2 draw with Real Madrid at the Estadio Vicente Calderon.
'Mono' Burgos was sent off by referee Carlos Delgado Ferreiro in the second half after Delgado Ferreiro had booked Atletico forward Costa for diving, while the home bench felt a penalty should have been awarded for a foul by Blancos full-back Alvaro Arbeloa.
The enraged former Atletico goalkeeper had to be held back by eight colleagues [players and fellow coaches, including manager Diego Simeone] as he attempted to square up to the official, with players from both sides also becoming involved in the melee.
Atletico had made it known prior to Wednesday's 'competition committee' meeting that they would accept any punishment without appealing.
Burgos had reportedly called referee Ferreiro on Monday to apologise for his behaviour, with AS reporting that the apology had been accepted by the Basque official.
Marca reports that the displicinary body decided that the offence fitted with Article 120 of the league’s disciplinary code, which carries a two or three-game touchline ban.
Atletico had also appealed the yellow card shown to Costa during the incident with Arbeloa, but this decision has been upheld.
As that was his fifth of the campaign, the new Spain international will now serve a one-match ban against Celta Vigo on Saturday.
Diego Godin and Arda Turan also picked up their fifth bookings of the season against Madrid, and will also miss the game at Balaidos.
After last Sunday’s game, Simeone told his news conference that Burgos had been especially angered by being singled out for punishment by the fourth official when he had not opened his mouth.
"[Burgos] did not say anything to the referee before...," Simeone said. "Then he got angry. The fourth official was far away and decided that he had said things."
Ferreiro’s performance in the game has brought heavy criticism, with Ramos later accepting he had fouled Costa inside the area in the first half, while Madrid claim they deserved a penalty for a Gabi handball with the score at 2-1.