Manchester United
Game Details

The 5 greatest Kaizer Chiefs vs Mamelodi Sundowns clashes

Kaizer Chiefs defender Erick Mathoho.
Chiefs had the better of the early clashes.

Kaizer Chiefs host Mamelodi Sundowns in the South African Premier Soccer League on Saturday in a game that could have a major bearing on the destination of the title this season.

KweséESPN takes a trip down memory lane to select five classic clashes between these two South African giants.

May 4, 1986: Chiefs 1-0 Sundowns

A full house at Ellis Park watched Sundowns play their last game before owner Zola Mahobe took the entire squad to see the FA Cup final at Wembley, and also to see Pule 'Ace' Ntsoelengoe's comeback to the Chiefs side after a two-year exile in the rival NPSL. The two giants were drawn early in the JPS Knockout Cup (now known as the Telkom Knockout), and the game proved a tense and tight affair with both goalkeepers kept busy until three minutes from time, when as Ntsoelengoe's dummy allowed Absalom 'Scara' Thindwa to thrash the ball goalwards. It beat the outstretched dive of Mark Anderson, who was later named Man of the Match, hit the post, bounced back into play to hit the Sundowns' keeper on the back of the head and trickle back over the line for a most unfortunate own-goal. Chiefs went on to beat Moroka Swallows 2-1 on aggregate over two legs to win the trophy.

March 12, 1994: Chiefs 3-2 Sundowns

Soccer City played host to the Top Eight Cup decider, with Chiefs in a first final under new coach Philippe Troussier and ex-AmaKhosi coach Jeff Butler in charge of Sundowns, who went into the lead through Sizwe Motaung with 19 minutes played. Burley Zambian centre forward Wedson Nyirenda, now national team coach of his country, turned matters around with two second half goals. But with just under 20 minutes to go Daniel Mudau made it 2-2 with a header and then, with minutes remaining, forced Brian Baloyi into a brilliant save to keep Chiefs in the game. Bennett Masinga then had the ball in the net but was ruled offside and the game went to extra-time. It was in the 99th minute that the outcome was settled, with Mike Maringa scoring to make it 3-2 to Chiefs.

November, 1998: Chiefs 2-2 Sundowns (Chiefs won 2-1 on pens)

This was the Rothmans Cup final characterised by a scandalous linesman's decision in the last minute that, in the words of the TV commentator, "cost Sundowns a million bucks". Playing for a record knockout purse the two clubs went toe-to-toe at Soccer City, with Thabo Mooki scoring in the first minute after a defensive slip to put Chiefs ahead. Sundowns equalised in the 75th minute with one of the all-time great cup final goals as a free-kick was hit into the Chiefs wall, only to loop back up and see Joel Masilela hit it, on the full volley with his left foot, into the corner of Brian Baloyi's net. Alex Bapela put the Brazilians ahead in extra-time after being teed up by a left-footed dink from Roger Feutmba, only for Chiefs to equalise within seven minutes as Neil Tovey's pass over the top saw Siyabonga Nomvete beat the offside trap and tuck it away with his left foot. Then came a horror decision as Mohamed Ouseb lost possession and a pass out wide to Masilela saw him go in and score. But linesman Tiny Chandermoney flagged erroneously for offside. The post-match penalty shootout was a bizarre affair as the first four kicks were squandered and after five each it was only 1-1. In sudden death, Sundowns' Themba Mnguni hit the post and Pollen Ndlanya finished for a narrow AmaKhosi triumph.

February 3, 2007: Sundowns 2-1 Chiefs

Loftus Versfeld saw Jose Torrealba score early after a clever first-time lay-off from Godfrey Sapula to see Sundowns ahead after just 10 minutes. But just after the half-hour mark David Kannemeyer's late lunge on Kaizer Motaung Jnr saw Chiefs handed a penalty which goalkeeper Rowen Fernandez slotted home, sending ex-team mate Brian Baloyi the wrong way. But a player was encroaching so a re-take was ordered which Baloyi stopped, only for Fernandez to score from the rebound. The Chiefs keeper then turned from hero to villain by fluffing a cross and allowing Chabangu to restore the lead six minutes into the second half. Torrealba was then sent off for swearing by referee Ace Ncobo but, even down to 10 men, Sundowns turned it on, and a sequence of 44 passes between the 72nd and 74th minute emphasised their dominance as Chiefs chased shadows and Sundowns coach Gordon Igesund was gesturing to the home fans to raise the roof with their cheering. The win was the third in an 11-match winning streak for Sundowns between January and April 2007 that effectively sewed up the title for the Brazilians.

Sundowns sent Stuart Baxter's side home with a beating.

August 5, 2012: Sundowns 4-1 Chiefs

A horror debut for Stuart Baxter on his return to South Africa as Sundowns came out of the starting blocks with emphatic intent, and by 37 minutes at Loftus Versfeld were 4-0 up. Sundowns' Thamsanqa Sangweni, Tebogo Langerman and Edward Manqele made dream debuts while Teko Modise ran the game from his midfield pulpit. The first goal came after seven minutes as Sangweni headed home a pinpoint cross from Modise followed five minutes later by one for Langerman. An opportunist effort from Lebohang Mokoena made it 3-0 with 25 minutes gone before Manqele got into the act eight minutes from the break. The consolation goal for AmaKhosi from Reneilwe Letsholonyane in the 76th minute barely concealed the humiliation of the team, eliminated in the first round of the MTN8. To add insult to injury, a tame 79th-minute penalty from Josta Dladla, after former Santos defender Wayne Arendse had handballed, was comfortably saved by Wayne Sandilands. After the final whistle, delighted Sundowns coach Johan Neeskens proclaimed: "Everything went according to plan in the first half, but we got a little sloppy after the interval."


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.