Wolverhampton Wanderers
11:45 AM UTC
Game Details
Manchester United
Manchester City
12:00 PM UTC
Game Details

Lobi Stars begin continental campaign with loss

 By Colin Udoh

Watford's Isaac Success gets first senior Nigeria call-up

Isaac Success has three goals in nine games this season with Granada.
Watford's Isaac Success has been called up by the senior Nigeria team for the first time ahead of next month's World Cup qualifier vs. Zambia.

Watford's Isaac Success has been called up by Nigeria for the first time ahead of next month's 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Zambia, while teammate Odion Ighalo is excused to attend his late father's funeral.

Arsenal youngster Alex Iwobi also received a call-up for the Oct. 9 game.

Success, a promising former youth international, has previously been overlooked despite sterling performances during his time with Granada in Spain. Both players are part of a 23-man squad named by Nigeria's technical adviser, Gernot Rohr, for the World Cup qualifying Matchday 1 encounter away to Zambia at Ndola.

Rohr has stuck with the majority of the squad that beat Tanzania 1-0 in a 2017 African Nations Cup qualifying match in Uyo on Sept. 3, but in addition to newcomer Succees and Iwobi, has handed recalls to defender Kenneth Omeruo and midfielder Anderson Esiti.

Captain John Obi Mikel, assistant Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, defender Elderson Echiejile, midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and in-form Manchester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho are also in the 23-man roster.

Injured Gent striker Moses Simon is listed after assuring Rohr that he has started treatment and would be fully healed well ahead of the encounter.

The full Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Ifeanyi Ubah, Nigeria)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (Mainz, Germany); William Paul Ekong (Haugesund, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor, Turkey); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium), Kingsley Madu (Zulte-Waregem, Belgium)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Anderson Esiti (Gent, Belgium)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea, England); Isaac Success (Watford, England); Ideye Brown (Olympiakos, Greece); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.