Golden Foot 2010

Beckham, Giggs, Gerrard nominated for Golden Foot

May 25, 2010
By Soccernet staff

A trio of David Beckham, Ryan Giggs and Steven Gerrard have been nominated among the 10 candidates for a prestigious European individual award.

GettyImagesRonaldinho celebrates being added to the Monaco seafront for posterity in 2009

"The Golden Foot", won last year by Ronaldinho, is awarded to players over the age of 29 and is awarded on the strength of a player's career. The British triumvirate have the chance to win an award due to be handed out in Monte Carlo on October 11.

They join Gianluigi Buffon, Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto'o, Carles Puyol, Raul, Clarence Seedorf and Francesco Totti in the voting, which will be voted for by fans on the Golden Foot website.

The ten were selected by a group of jurors of football experts from across the globe and have the chance to emulate previous winners Roberto Baggio, Pavel Nedved, Andriy Shevchenko, Ronaldo, Alessandro Del Piero and Roberto Carlos.

The gala event also sees legends of the game honoured for their career achievements. The inductees into the Champions Promenade have their footprints placed on the seafront of the Principality of Monaco. Last year saw Nilton Santos, Karl Heinz-Rummenigge, Oleg Blokhin, Zbignew Boniek and Rene Higuita honoured in plaster alongside Ronaldinho.

• Fans can vote themselves on