West Bromwich Albion
Stoke City
Game Details
Game Details
Mexico U17Mexico U17
Brazil U17Brazil U17
Game Details

Mexico's Gerardo Martino includes four uncapped players in first squad

Gerardo Martino has named his first squad for a Mexico City training camp.

Gerardo "Tata" Martino has named his first Mexico squad, including four players without previous national team experience, for a camp in Mexico City beginning on Sunday.

Chivas forward Alexis Vega, Atlas attacking midfielder Juan Pablo Vigon, Monterrey midfielder Carlos Rodriguez and America defender Jorge Sanchez were all included for the first time.

Santos Laguna holding midfielder Jose Juan "Gallito" Vazquez has returned to the squad, having been regularly left out under previous coach Juan Carlos Osorio, but there was no space for U.S.-born midfielder Jonathan Gonzalez.

Experienced goalkeepers Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul) and Alfredo Talavera (Toluca) have also made way, with Hugo Gonzalez (Necaxa), Raul Gudino (Chivas), Jonathan Orozco (Santos Laguna) and Gibran Lajud (Tijuana) included.

Martino had mentioned the possibility of bringing in domestic club players for midweek camps at his introductory news conference in January, but did not confirm when the first would take place when he spoke in Los Angeles on Thursday.

He also said on Thursday that he has no no intention of calling up naturalized players as he begins his tenure, adding that foreign players who wish to play for his national team aren't a priority.

The fact that clubs have agreed to release players represents a coup for the coach, who has been speaking to Liga MX managers and presidents over recent weeks.

"What we've found up until now ... is a lot of openness, and we've been given a great reception from the [club] owners," Martino said.

The squad will meet at the Mexican federation's complex on Sunday evening with players leaving on Wednesday, although those involved in Liga MX games next Friday will be allowed to return on Tuesday.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Jonathan Orozco (Santos Laguna), Gibran Lajud (Tijuana), Raul Gudino (Chivas), Hugo Gonzalez (Necaxa)

Defenders: Edson Alvarez (America), Jorge Sanchez (America), Carlos Salcedo (Tigres), Luis "Chaka" Rodriguez (Tigres), Cesar Montes (Monterrey), Hiram Mier (Chivas), Jesus Angulo (Santos Laguna), Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey)

Midfielders: Jesus Duenas (Tigres), José Juan Vazquez (Santos Laguna), Carlos Rodriguez (Monterrey), Victor Guzman (Pachuca), Orbelin Pineda (Cruz Azul), Juan Pablo Vigon (Atlas).

Forwards: Rodolfo Pizarro (Monterrey), Henry Martin (America), Isaac Brizuela (Chivas), Alexis Vega (Chivas), Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul), Javier Aquino (Tigres)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.