Venezuela U20
Japan U20
Game Details
South Korea U20
Portugal U20
Game Details
Michigan Bucks
Saint Louis FC
12:00 AM UTC May 31, 2017
Game Details
Ivory Coast U20
Bahrain U20
3:00 PM UTC
Game Details
France U19
Wales U20
5:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Kawasaki Frontale
Muangthong United
Leg 2Aggregate: 7 - 2
Game Details
Kashima Antlers
Guangzhou Evergrande
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 2
Game Details
7:00 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 0
Game Details
Al Hilal
Esteghlal Khuzestan
7:30 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 1
Game Details

Transfer Rater: Oxlade exit, Costa to Spurs


Suarez lands Football Writers' award

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez has been named the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year.

Luis Suarez has been voted the PFA Players' Player of the Year.
Luis Suarez has enjoyed a stunning season at Liverpool.

Usher: Crucial week for Reds
Jolly: Two title chases

Suarez, who also won the Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year last month, completed the double in reward for an impressive campaign.

Despite missing the first four games of the Premier League season through suspension after biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic, the Uruguay international looks assured of winning the division's Golden Boot after netting 30 goals.

His form has played a huge part in Liverpool's title challenge this term, with the club currently sitting second in the table with two games to go, behind Manchester City only on goal difference.

The Uruguay international follows in the footsteps of Gareth Bale after the Wales international claimed both the FWA and PFA Player of the Year awards last year. Suarez, who joined the Reds from Ajax in 2011, was also named in the PFA's Team of the Year.

The FWA made the announcement on Monday via its official Twitter account.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn, of the Sunday Mirror, said in a statement: "Those members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand.

"Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.

"Luis is a remarkable gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award."

In a poll that saw 10 different players get votes, Suarez collected 52 percent of the overall vote, ahead of teammate Steven Gerrard, who came second, with Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure in third place.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.