Arjen Robben escapes diving sanction
FIFA will not take action against Arjen Robben after he admitted diving during the Netherlands' 2-1 win over Mexico.
- Van Gaal plays down Netherlands' form
- Carlisle: Robben playing to strengths
- Marshall: Dutch class shines through
- Honigstein: Huntelaar answers the call
- Born: Sneijder steps up for Netherlands
- Herrera: Robben 'dived to win penalty'
Robben apologised for diving on one occasion in the game -- but added that he didn't dive on the decisive penalty in stoppage time, which he said was "definitely a foul."
FIFA head of media Delia Fischer said the disciplinary committee would look retrospectively only at "serious infringements" of fair play rules -- diving carries a yellow card sanction -- and that Robben would face no action.
"Simulation is not something we want to see on the field of play, but the referees are trained to identify these simulations and punish them by showing yellow cards," she told a news conference in Rio de Janeiro. "The disciplinary committee will look into serious infringements. We appeal to the spirit of fair play, which is the overarching message we have."
Robben said during a news conference later on Monday that he has no plans to change his playing style or personality.
"I don't change myself. That is my personality. I think it's good," he said, adding that he was "very honest" in the television interview.
"Sometimes you are punished for honesty," he said.
Asked if he feared disciplinary action from FIFA for his comments, Robben said: "Not at all. Why?"
The Dutch FA insisted Robben's comments had been misinterpreted in a statement on its website, stressing that the player had said the late penalty call was "perfectly correct" and that he was referring to an earlier incident when admitting he had gone down too easily.
Mexico captain Rafael Marquez told reporters on Sunday that Robben conceded he had dived in injury time too -- though Robben did not say that on Dutch TV.
"I spoke with him [Robben] after the match, and he told me that it was not a penalty," Marquez said. "He said that the first foul was a penalty and that one was not called."
Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.