Atletico Madrid
Leg 1
Game Details
FC Salzburg
Leg 1
Game Details
St. Kitts and Nevis
12:00 AM UTC Apr 27, 2018
Game Details

Postecoglou resists Socceroos axe

New Socceroos Ange Postecoglou has resisted the urge to wield the axe after naming only one uncapped player in the 22-man squad to face Costa Rico.

Ange Postecoglou must implement change as his first point of business.
Ange Postecoglou has resisted making wholesale changes in his first Socceroos squad.

Unveiling his first team as Socceroos boss, Postecoglou stuck with much of the squad that secured Australia’s place at next year’s World Cup in Brazil.

However, uncapped defender Alex Wilkinson has been called into camp, while there were recalls for A-League players Ivan Franjic and Michael Zullo. Ryan McGowan makes a comeback after being a part of the squad that received a 6-0 mauling from Brazil.

Meanwhile, Socceroos regulars Sasa Ognenovski and Luke Wilkshire were omitted for the game against the Central Americans.

“I’m excited by the squad we have named to face Costa Rica on November 19 at Allianz Stadium and look forward to working with the players and staff when they come into camp early next week,” Postecoglou said.

“The first task is to have a good look at the bulk of the players who played a significant part in qualifying Australia for the 2014 World Cup and also giving opportunities to players I think have the ability to improve the team.

“I want to give every Australian player the best opportunity to stake a claim for Brazil and beyond.”

Socceroos squad:

Goalkeepers: Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Mat Ryan (Club Brugge KV)

Defenders: Jason Davidson (SC Heracles Almelo), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng), Lucas Neill (Omiya Ardija), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough FC), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai), Michael Zullo (Adelaide United)

Midfielders: Oliver Bozanic (FC Luzern), Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa), Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar), James Holland (FK Austria Vienna), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace FC), Matthew McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Tom Rogic (Celtic FC), Dario Vidosic (FC Sion)

Forwards: Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus), Robbie Kruse (TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Mathew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt), Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.