Referee admits error over Bayern penalty; Muller admits nerves
The referee who awarded Bayern Munich a last-minute penalty vs. Augsburg, from which Thomas Muller scored the winning goal on Saturday, has admitted that he made the wrong decision.
The penalty was awarded after Markus Feulner was judged to have brought down Douglas Costa. Having watched footage of the incident, referee Knut Kircher has had a rethink.
"If something happens on the pitch and the linesman sees it, he has to give me a signal," he told Sportschau. "In this case, the linesman was convinced it was a foul. I could only see the situation from the corner of my eye, so I had to rely on my assistant's decision.
"We have now seen the footage and I must admit he got it wrong, so I got it wrong as well, because I am the one in charge. It does not give Augsburg any points, but we are sorry. Our decision was the wrong one."
Meanwhile, Muller admitted to having nerves as he stepped up to take the decisive spot-kick.
"That really put me under a lot of pressure, in the 90th minute," Muller said on his club's website. "It certainly puts butterflies in the belly even of an experienced player like me."
Augsburg goalkeeper Marwin Hitz dived the right way, but Muller put enough direction on his shot to beat him and earn Bayern all three points. However, the win did not mask a sub-standard performance from the record German champions.
"I know it's difficult after an international break, but that's no excuse,'' said manager Pep Guardiola. "We've got to play for 90 minutes, not just 45. In the first half, our body language was not good. Our game was very, very slow. I hope we can do better than that in future.'"
Augsburg manager Markus Weinzierl, who has beaten Guardiola's Bayern twice in the past, was left to lament what might have been.
"We would have deserved a point,"' he said. "The lads did a great job and I'm sorry for every one of them."
Information from PA Sport was used in this report.