West Ham United
Dec 26, 2014 12:45 PM GMT
Game Details
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Stoke City
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Manchester United
Newcastle United
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Leicester City
Tottenham Hotspur
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
West Bromwich Albion
Manchester City
Dec 26, 2014 3:00 PM GMT
Game Details
Queens Park Rangers
Dec 26, 2014 5:30 PM GMT
Game Details

Costa Rica announce 23-man squad

Álvaro 'Pipe' Saborío was a sub in the 2006 World Cup. An injury will keep him out of Brazil.
Alvaro Saborio won't be able to play in Brazil after breaking his foot in training.

Costa Rica revealed their final 23-man World Cup squad on Friday, leaving off injured stars Alvaro Saborio and Bryan Oviedo as expected.

The Central American team revealed on Thursday that striker Saboria had broken his foot in training, while left-back Oviedo could not recover in time from a broken leg he suffered in January.

Manager Jorge Luis Pinto also excluded defender Kendall Waston and midfielder Carlos Hernandez from his final squad.

Details of the squad were leaked to local media on Friday, leading the Costa Rican Football Federation to confirm the news hours later while canceling a news conference scheduled for Saturday in which Pinto had been set to announce the final list.

Costa Rica face a difficult challenge in Group D against Uruguay and European powers England and Italy.

They will be led by Fulham forward Bryan Ruiz and Arsenal striker Joel Campbell, both of whom played on loan outside of England last year.

Of the 23 squad members, nine play their club football domestically.

Costa Rican travels to the U.S. on Saturday to play friendlies against Japan and Ireland.

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Levante), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense), Daniel Cambronero (Herediano)

Defenders: Giancarlo Gonzalez (Columbus Crew), Johnny Acosta (Alajuelense), Michael Umana (Saprissa), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls), Junior Diaz (Mainz 05), Christian Gamboa (Rosenborg), Oscar Duarte (Bruges), Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew), Heiner Mora (Saprissa)

Midfielders: Michael Barrantes (Aalesunds), Jose Miguel Cubero (Herediano), Yeltsin Tejeda (Saprissa), Celso Borges (AIK), Esteban Granados (Herediano), Christian Bolaños (Copenhagen)

Forwards: Joel Campbell (Olympiakos), Bryan Ruiz (PSV), Randall Brenes (Carthaginian), Diego Calvo (Valerenga), Marco Urena (Kuban Krasnodar)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.