Real Madrid
Game Details
Aston Villa
Game Details
Seattle Sounders FC
Real Salt Lake
9:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Vancouver Whitecaps
New England Revolution
9:30 PM UTC
Game Details
New York Red Bulls
Philadelphia Union
11:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Orlando City SC
Chicago Fire
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Minnesota United FC
Montreal Impact
12:00 AM UTC May 27, 2018
Game Details
Colorado Rapids
Portland Timbers
1:00 AM UTC May 27, 2018
Game Details
DC United
2:00 AM UTC May 27, 2018
Game Details
Game Details

Kevin-Prince Boateng in 26-man squad

ACCRA, Ghana -- Ghana have picked Michael Essien and Kevin-Prince Boateng for a preliminary 26-man squad as the Black Stars prepare to play the United States in their World Cup opener next month.

Ghana included Kevin-Prince Boateng on the 26-man provisional roster.

The group will be trimmed to 23 after an exhibition against Netherlands on May 31.

Essien and Boateng were selected on Monday after returning to international football last year. They had both asked for time away from the national team.

Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan and midfielder Sulley Muntari were also included and are set to play in their third consecutive World Cups.

The Black Stars were the best-performing African team at the 2010 tournament, reaching the quarterfinals and just missing out on the semifinals after a penalty shootout loss to Uruguay.

Ghana eliminated the U.S. at the last two World Cups. Germany and Portugal also are in Group G.

"Once the players are all fit we hope to deliver," coach Kwesi Appiah said. "Every coach has a target and I believe in my players and the national team, but I cannot tell where we will get to. The only thing l can say is we will not disgrace Ghanaians."

Essien missed the 2010 World Cup because he was injured. Boateng quit the national team duties in 2011 but was recalled toward the end of the World Cup qualifying last year.

Ghana will play in its third straight World Cup in Brazil.

The Black Stars play Netherlands in Rotterdam on May 31 and South Korea in Miami on June 9 before heading to Brazil.

Goalkeepers: Stephen Adams, Fatawu Dauda (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Adam Kwarasey (Stromsgodset, Norway)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), Jerry Akaminko (Kisehirspor, Turkey), John Boye (Rennes, France), Samuel Inkoom (Platanias, Greece), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), Jeffrey Schlupp (Leicester, England), Rashid Sumaila (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)

Midfielders: David Accam (Helsingborg, Sweden), Afriyie Acquah (Parma, Italy), Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough, England), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus, Italy), Christian Atsu (Vitesse, Netherlands), Andre Ayew (Marsellie, France), Michael Essien (AC Milan, Italy), Rabiu Mohammed (Kuban Krasnodar, Russia), Wakaso Mubarak (Rubin Kazan, Russia), Sulley Muntari (AC Milan, Italy)

Forwards: Jordan Ayew (Sochaux, France), Kevin-Prince Boateng (Schalke, Germany), Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, United Arab Emirates) Abdul Majeed Waris (Valenciennes, France)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.