Real Madrid
Manchester City
12:00 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details
12:00 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details

U.S. names training camp roster

U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann named 26 players to the U.S. January training camp roster Friday.

The camp, preparation for the 2014 World Cup, will start in Carson, Calif., on Jan. 6 and continue in Sao Paolo, Brazil, Jan. 13-25, US Soccer announced.

Carlisle: Key 2014 storylines
McIntyre: 2013 in review | Hot list

The preliminary roster features 10 players who helped the U.S. advance to the World Cup for the seventh straight time. Midfielder Graham Zusi led all players with nine appearances while defender Omar Gonzalez and forward Eddie Johnson had eight each.

"The January camp always had tremendous value and it’s important for MLS players to get off vacation and to start working," Klinsmann said in a video interview on the US soccer site. "We came up with 27, 28 names. We are probably going to cut it down to 23 after one week of evaluation."

Klinsmann said the team will then head to Brazil for two weeks to test the facility in Sao Paolo.

He said that he would consider folding the few players who didn’t make the 23-man cut back into the ranks during the final week of Sao Paolo as part of training heading into the team’s Feb. 1 friendly vs. South Korea in Carson, Calif.

The camp is a mix of veterans and newcomers.

The complete roster follows:

Goalkeepers (4): Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders (10): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Harrington (Portland Timbers), Chris Klute (Colorado Rapids), Chance Myers (Sporting Kansas City), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Seth Sinovic (Sporting Kansas City), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders (8): Eric Alexander (New York Red Bulls), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards (4): Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.