Real Madrid
Manchester City
Leg 2Aggregate: 1 - 0
Game Details
Jacksonville Armada
FC Edmonton
Game Details
River Plate
Independiente del Valle
Leg 2Aggregate: 1 - 2
Game Details
São Paulo
Leg 2Aggregate: 3 - 5
Game Details
Atlético MG
Racing Club
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 1
Game Details
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 2
Game Details
Buriram United
Shandong Luneng Taishan
10:30 AM UTC May 4, 2016
Game Details

Marcotti: Video replay an improvement


FIFA confirms pots for World Cup draw

Spain prepare for the 2014 World Cup Draw which will take place on Friday.
Hosts Brazil prepare for the 2014 World Cup Draw which will take place on Friday in Salvador, Brazil.
Italy prepare for the 2014 World Cup Draw which will take place on Friday.
France prepare for the 2014 World Cup Draw which will take place on Friday in Salvador, Brazil.
Argentina prepare for the 2014 World Cup Draw which will take place on Friday in Salvador, Brazil.

FIFA confirmed the pots for Friday's World Cup draw on Tuesday, putting the seeded teams in Pot 1, the African and South American teams in Pot 2, the CONCACAF and Asian teams in Pot 3 and the remaining nine European teams in Pot 4.

Johnson: The Pot X Factor
• Duarte: Brazil's big problems
• Delaney: Groups of death

To make the number in each pot equal, at the start of the draw one of the nine European teams will be drawn into Pot 2, and will definitely face one of the seeded South American sides.

Eight teams were seeded -- host Brazil and the top seven in FIFA’s October rankings -- and the other 24 teams were placed in pots based on "geographic and sports criteria."

At Friday’s draw, one team from each pot will be placed in each of the eight World Cup groups.

The draw will be organised so that there will be no more than two European teams in any group of four countries, and all the South American teams will be kept apart.

Pot 1 includes Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay, Spain, Germany, Belgium and Switzerland.

The countries in Pot 2 are the unseeded South American countries and the qualifiers from Africa: Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ivory Coast, Ecuador, Ghana and Nigeria.

Pot 3 is made up of the teams from Asia and and north and central America: Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Iran, Japan, Korea Republic, Mexico, USA.

In Pot 4 there are nine unseeded European teams: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia.

1.In order to create an even flow to the draw as Pots 1-4 are emptied, we begin by drawing one ball from Pot 4 (containing a European team) and placing it into Pot 2 to achieve an equal balance of eight teams in each pot
2.Pot 1 will then be emptied beginning with Brazil; teams will be allocated to position 1 of Groups A through H sequentially
3.With the addition of the European team to Pot 2, Pot 2 will contain teams from three different qualification zones. With teams from three zones in the same pot, we increase the risk of inadvertently violating the principle of geographic separation. In order to ensure we do not mistakenly end up with three European teams in the same Group, the following mechanism will be implemented:
- The four seeded South American teams will be placed in an ancillary pot – Pot X
- One of the four teams will be drawn
The Group of the South American which is drawn will determine the Group which the European team from Pot 2 will join Final Draw Procedures
4.Pot 2 will then be emptied, beginning with the European ball:
- The European team will join Group of South American team drawn from Pot X
- The remaining teams will be allocated to Groups A through H sequentially
(Note: Groups may be skipped to respect principle of geographic separation; e.g. Chile and Ecuador may not be drawn into Groups with seeded South American teams)
5.Pots 3 and 4 will then be emptied in order
6.The positions within Groups A through H will be drawn for all teams of Pots 2, 3 and 4.




Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.