Nottingham Forest
11:45 AM UTC
Game Details

Salzburg finally win a 'Red Bull battle' vs. Leipzig

UEFA Europa League

Inside France's World Cup ceremony


England penalties: 11/11 in open play, 11/19 in shootouts

England are in the World Cup quarterfinals, and they did it - believe it or not - by winning a penalty shootout. ESPN brings you all the key numbers.

Harry Kane slots home his sixth goal of the World Cup


England won a penalty shootout at the World Cup for the first time in their history, on their fourth attempt. Interestingly, they have converted all of their 11 penalties in regular play, the most in World Cup history by a team that has never missed. Their 100 percent accuracy in open play drops to a little over 50 percent in shootouts, where they have converted just 11 of their 19 kicks.


Harry Kane has gone up to second among all scorers at World Cups for England, with his sixth goal in just his third match of the 2018 campaign. He has gone past Geoff Hurst, and now only trails Gary Lineker (10) among England scorers. He is also just the second England player with six goals in one World Cup after Lineker, who won the Golden Boot for his six goals in 1986.


England have advanced to the World Cup quarterfinals for the first time in 12 years, following a round of 16 win over Ecuador in 2006. They were then eliminated on penalties by Portugal in the quarterfinals, and they lost 4-1 to Germany in the round of 16 four years later. Matthew Upson's 37th-minute strike in that match in Bloemfontein was the last knockout goal scored by England, before Kane's penalty conversion.


Yerry Mina is just the second Colombian after James Rodriguez to have scored in three successive matches at the World Cup for Colombia. Rodriguez went on to score in five consecutive games of the 2014 World Cup, and finished as the Golden Boot winner with his six goals.


Sweden have made the quarterfinals after 24 years, having finished in third place in 1994. Emil Forsberg's winner also marks the first time since 1994 that they have scored more than five goals in a World Cup -- the 15 they scored in United States is still their record. It is also the first time since the 1958 edition that they hosted, that Sweden have won consecutive games in one World Cup.

Sweden beat Switzerland 1-0 to secure their place in the World Cup quarterfinals.
Sweden became the 11th country to play 50 or more World Cup games


Harry Kane is now the first Englishman to have converted three penalties -- not counting kicks taken in a shootout -- and the first to have done so in one World Cup since Bulgaria's Hristo Stoichkov in 1994. Johan Neeskens of Netherlands also converted three in 1974, whereas both Rob Rensenbrink of Netherlands (1978) and Eusebio (1966) converted four in one tournament. Gabriel Batistuta of Argentina also has four converted penalties overall in World Cups.


England's nine goals scored at the 2018 World Cup are now the second best they have ever achieved in one World Cup, going past the eight goals they scored in both 1954 and 1990. Their record for most goals in one campaign remains 11 in 1966, the only year they have won the World Cup.


The England-Colombia match saw eight players (six for Colombia and two for England) being shown the yellow card, the joint most in this tournament. Both France-Argentina (round of 16) and Belgium-Panama (group stages) saw eight yellow cards shown to the two teams, while Argentina's clash with Croatia in the group stages saw seven cards produced.


Sweden have become the 11th team to have played their 50th World Cup game, though they are one of only three teams to have played 50 or more matches without winning a single tournament -- Mexico (57) and Netherlands (50) are the other two teams to have that record.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.