4:00 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 0
Game Details
AS Roma
6:00 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 4 - 0
Game Details
Apoel Nicosia
Athletic Bilbao
6:00 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 2 - 3
Game Details
Tottenham Hotspur
KAA Gent
8:05 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 1
Game Details
Borussia Monchengladbach
8:05 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 1 - 0
Game Details
Shakhtar Donetsk
Celta Vigo
8:05 PM UTC
Leg 2Aggregate: 1 - 0
Game Details
FC Dallas
Arabe Unido
1:00 AM UTC Feb 24, 2017
Leg 1
Game Details

Turkey makes bid to host 2024 Euros


Team Profile: Germany

Overall record at finals: Played 61, Won 29, Drawn 17, Lost 15.

Best performance: Champions in 1972, 1980 and 1996.

Most appearances at finals: Jurgen Klinsmann (1988, 1992, 1996) and Thomas Hassler (1992, 1996, 2000) - 13

Most goals at finals: Jurgen Klinsmann (1988, 1992, 1996) - 5

European Championship high: Winning their first Euros as a unified nation in 1996 at the 'home of football' - Wembley Stadium, England.

European Championship low: Germany went into Euro 2000 as defending champions but failed to win a single game at the tournament, drawing 1-1 with Romania and losing 1-0 to old foes England before being pummelled 3-0 by Portugal. It was also a sad end to the career of Lothar Matthaus, who won the last of his record 150 caps as Germany bowed out.

European Championship legend: Franz Beckenbauer may have skippered the side to victory in 1972, and the runners-up spot in 1976, but it is Gerd Muller who is remembered as the man who delivered the trophy to West Germany for the very first time. The squat, awkward-looking Bayern Munich striker scored both goals in the 2-1 semi-final win against Belgium and two more in the 3-0 defeat of Soviet Union. He is still the country's record goalscorer with 68 in 62 games.

The story so far: After an inauspicious start, with West Germany either not entering or failing to qualify for the first three tournaments, Die Nationalelf won the trophy in their very first appearance in the finals in 1972 and have been there or thereabouts ever since. Franz Beckenbauer's West Germany relinquished their title after losing 5-3 on penalties to Czechoslovakia four years later but reclaimed their crown in 1980 as two goals from Horst Hrubesch secured a 2-1 win against Belgium in Rome.

At Euro '92, a unified Germany were on the end of a shock defeat as Denmark, who replaced Yugoslavia at the finals at very late notice, won the final 2-0. However, with Berti Vogts in charge they went one better in 1996 as Germany lifted the cup for a third time, thanks to Oliver Bierhoff's Golden Goal against Czech Republic at Wembley. Two fallow European Championships followed but, at Euro 2008, the Germans once again reached the final only to be beaten, across the border in Austria, by a single goal from Spain's Fernando Torres. They are the European Championship's most successful team.

Qualification: Joachim Low's side qualified for the tournament with a perfect record, finishing 13 points ahead of second-placed Turkey, who they beat 3-0 at home and 3-1 away, in Group A. Low was able to experiment with younger players such as Mario Gotze while veteran Miroslav Klose added another nine goals to continue his phenomenal international scoring record. The Germans scored three or more goals in eight of their ten qualifiers and are one of the favourites to win Euro 2012.

Qualifying record: P10, W10, D0, L0, F34, A7, Pts30.

Most appearances: Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, Thomas Muller (10).

Top goalscorer: Miroslav Klose (9).


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.