5:00 AM UTC
Game Details
5:00 AM UTC
Game Details
 By PA Sport

Premier League managerial changes hit record high as two more depart

Mark Ogden discusses David Moyes' departure from West Ham and Sam Allardyce's sacking at Everton.

Carlos Carvalhal's departure from Swansea and Paul Lambert leaving Stoke means there have been a Premier League-record 15 managerial changes this season.

Swansea announced on Friday that they would not renew Carvalhal's expiring contract, with news of Lambert's departure coming soon afterwards.

The two follow Sam Allardyce (Everton) and David Moyes (West Ham) in leaving their roles in the week between the end of the league season and Saturday's FA Cup final.

Add in 10 changes during the league season and Arsene Wenger's pre-announced departure from Arsenal after their final game against Huddersfield, and this season has surpassed the previous record of 13 changes.

Crystal Palace sacked Frank de Boer just four games into the season, and Craig Shakespeare and Ronald Koeman left Leicester and Everton respectively in October.

Moyes replaced Slaven Bilic at West Ham and West Brom sacked Tony Pulis before Paul Clement became Swansea's first casualty of the campaign before Christmas.

January saw Mark Hughes and Marco Silva leave Stoke and Watford, Mauricio Pellegrino left Southampton in March and, the following month, Alan Pardew became the second boss sacked by West Brom.

Wenger, Allardyce and Moyes followed at the season's end before Friday's announcements on Carvalhal and Lambert.

Defining a season as the period from August 1 one year to May 31 the next, the previous mark was set in 2013-14 after a similar end-of-season flurry.

That campaign saw Manchester United and Norwich part company with Moyes and Chris Hughton in April before, at the end of the season, Pepe Mel left West Brom and Tottenham sacked Tim Sherwood before luring Mauricio Pochettino from Southampton to replace him.

It was Tottenham's second change of the campaign after Sherwood had taken over from Andre Villas-Boas in December, with Fulham also changing twice and Sunderland, Crystal Palace, West Brom, Cardiff and Swansea contributing to the total.

The 2015-16 season, when Aston Villa sacked Sherwood and Remi Garde, also finished with a bang.

Everton's Roberto Martinez, Manchester United's Louis van Gaal, Manchester City's Manuel Pellegrini, Watford's Quique Sanchez Flores and Chelsea interim boss Guus Hiddink all left their posts in May -- some having been announced beforehand -- to take the season's total to 12.

The 2008-09 season, which featured another short-term assignment for Hiddink at Stamford Bridge, and the final season of a 22-team Premier League in 1994-95 each saw 11 managers fall.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.