Nottingham Forest
LIVE 78'
Game Details
United StatesUnited States
Game Details

Gold Cup: U.S. draw Trinidad & Tobago; Mexico, Canada in Group A

Jump to: Group breakdownAll you need to know | Daily fixtures

The United States will get their rematch with Trinidad & Tobago in the group stage of the 2019 Gold Cup.

The draw for the tournament, which will feature 16 teams for the first time in its history, was announced on Wednesday. 

The U.S. already knew it would be placed in Group D, and it contains some familiar foes in Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana.

The U.S. will first play Guyana on June 18 in St. Paul, Minnesota at newly built Allianz Field. The competition hosts will then take on T&T in Cleveland four days later in a match that will mark the first time the two teams have squared off since the Soca Warriors' 2-1 victory in World Cup qualifying that eliminated the U.S. The group will then conclude on June 26 with the U.S facing Panama -- the team that qualified for Russia 2018 at the U.S.'s expense -- in Kansas City.

Meanwhile, Mexico headlines Group A. El Tri begins play vs. Cuba in Pasadena, Calif. on June 15, followed by a match against Canada in Denver four days later. Mexico concludes group-stage play vs. Martinique in Charlotte on June 23.

In Group B, Costa Rica will host a Gold Cup match for the first time in the country's history on June 16, with the group's later games to take place in Frisco, Texas on June 20 and Harrison, New Jersey on June 25. The Ticos are joined by Haiti, Nicaragua and Gold Cup debutants Bermuda.

In Group C, Jamaica is another country that will be hosting matches for the first time on June 17. Houston will host a doubleheader on June 21, with the group finales taking place four days later in Los Angeles. The Reggae Boyz are joined by Honduras, El Salvador and Curaçao.

The U.S. ostensibly has the easier route to the final given that Mexico and Costa Rica are in the other half of the bracket. That said, given its failure to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, and the relative difficulty of its group, the hosts will be taking nothing for granted.

Six teams qualified for the Gold Cup on the basis of competing in the final round of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup. The remaining 10 teams qualified on the basis of their finish in the qualifying stage the CONCACAF Nations League.

The final will be held at Chicago's Soldier Field on July 7.

Group A: Mexico, Canada, Martinique, Cuba

Group B: Costa Rica, Haiti, Nicaragua, Bermuda

Group C: Honduras, Jamaica, El Salvador, Curacao

Group D: United States, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.