West Ham United
Tottenham Hotspur
11:30 AM UTC
Game Details
Manchester City
Crystal Palace
2:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Manchester United
2:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Stoke City
2:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Leicester City
4:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Paris Saint-Germain
3:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Real Madrid
2:15 PM UTC
Game Details
Borussia Dortmund
Borussia Monchengladbach
4:30 PM UTC
Game Details
6:45 PM UTC
Game Details
New York City FC
Houston Dynamo
7:00 PM UTC
Game Details
New England Revolution
Toronto FC
9:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Columbus Crew SC
New York Red Bulls
11:30 PM UTC
Game Details
Real Salt Lake
Seattle Sounders FC
1:30 AM UTC Sep 24, 2017
Game Details
 By PA Sport

N'Golo Kante humble in accepting FWA Footballer of the Year

Layla Anna-Lee tells you exactly why she believes N'golo Kante is not the best midfielder in the world.

N'Golo Kante insists he was not even the best player at Chelsea after he was presented with the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award.

Kante received the prize at the Landmark Hotel in London on Thursday in recognition of an outstanding season, in which the 26-year-old played an instrumental part in the Blues winning the title.

The France international fought off competition from his teammate Eden Hazard and Tottenham forward Dele Alli, who were voted second and third respectively, after sealing his second consecutive Premier League crown.

Kante joined Chelsea last summer for £32 million, having also played a key role in Leicester becoming champions 12 months ago.

"It's special because I couldn't even say I'm the best player but it's very special and a great honour," Kante said. "It's not only me. I owe so much to my teammates because we have achieved so much together this season and we still have the FA Cup.

"It is very special, a few years ago I was playing in the French lower divisions. Five years ago I wasn't even professional so to receive this kind of award means I am the kind of player I cannot even imagine being here."

Five Chelsea players were nominated by the 340 FWA members, with Hazard, David Luiz, Diego Costa and Cesar Azpilicueta also receiving votes.

But Kante collected more than 65 percent of the journalists' votes, which were spread over a record number of 17 different players.

N'Golo Kante award
N'Golo Kante accepted the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award on Thursday.

Graeme Souness praised the "fabulous" footballer and Pat Jennings said he would be welcome to extend his run of winning the Premier League with his own former team Tottenham.

Chelsea technical director Michael Emenalo joked he sent Leicester flowers after seeing Kante up close and believes there is even more to come.

"For those of you who don't know, I am the stand in for Antonio Conte who was supposed to give this speech," Emenalo said.

"Antonio decided not to do it because the Football Writers' Association couldn't find 25 awards for all of his players and he doesn't believe in individual awards.

"But if he was here, he would say about N'Golo that he is a fantastic player, very good in all tactical aspects, but he must improve.

"It is ridiculous to think that N'Golo Kante can improve, given the fact that he has improved two fantastic clubs and helped them win titles in the last couple of seasons."

Emenalo added: "I want to express the great pride that I personally have and the football club, and to be able to say that this wonderful player, this wonderful person is a part of our organisation.

"It gives me great joy tonight to say congratulations N'Golo and to wish you all the best, and hopefully continue to improve. From the Chelsea family, you're the pride and joy."


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.